INDUSTRY INFORMATION: REFERENCE BOOKS

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HF 5681 .R25 A45 2005
• Published by Prentice-Hall; edited by Leo Troy
• Provides 50 performance indicators for 192 industries
• Also includes industry operating ratios results for a 10-year period


American Salary and Wages Survey
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HD 4973 .A67 2005
• Published by the Gale Group; Joyce P. Simkin, editor
• Presents salary information for 2,600 occupations (over 89,000 entries)
• Data compiled from state and federal government sources, trade associations and journals
• Covers every state, 218 metropolitan areas and counties, 396 cities and 27 regions
• Entries include the following: occupational category, location, salary range (low, mid, high), source
• Cross-referenced
• Although the latest figures are from November 2003 thourgh June 2004, this remains a useful tool for salary comparisons within a job category and by geographical area


Business Rankings Annual
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HG 4050 .B86 2006
• Published by the Gale Group
• "Lists of companies, products, services, and activities compiled from a variety of published sources"
• Provides rankings for “5,000 relevant and timely rankings”
• Lists "top 10" (when available) per ranked category
• Each ranking includes remarks on criteria used for ranking and a list of ranked items
• "Outline of Contents" serves as an alphabetized subject directory
• All rankings include the source compiled from
• Indexed by company, person, product, industry, SIC (with conversion guide to NAICS)
• Also includes international rankings
• Bibliography lists over 300 sources consulted
• This is an easy-to-use resource for locating a company's ranking with an industry or to provide a comparison with competing companies


D&B Business Rankings
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HG 4057 .A237 2005
• Ranks over 25,000 of the nation's most prominent companies, both private and public
• Entries list only address, telephone number and ranking data; ranks domestic and international companies by sales volume/number of employees, such as size, location industry
• Provides considerable data on rankings, but no additional information
• Very useful for what it covers


Dun & Bradstreet/Gale Group Industry Handbook: Entertainment and Hospitality
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HF 5035 .D86 2000 v.4
• Published by the Gale Group; Jennifer Zielinski, editor
• Offers in-depth statistical and directory information for the entertainment and hospitality industries
• “Forward” consists of an interpretive essay about each industry’s trends and global impact
• “Industry Overview” includes the following: industry snapshot, organization and structure, background and development, pioneers in the industry, current conditions and future projections, industry leaders, work force
• Also includes industry statistics/performance indicators, financial norms/ratios, company directory (brief profiles of companies public and private), company rankings (incorporates Dun & Bradstreet ranking data by sales, employment), mergers/acquisitions, business/professional associations, consultants, trade information sources
• Identifies sources for all entries/data
• Indexed by company/organization name, location, individuals, SIC industry names
• Excellent, comprehensive resource for these industries; a great place to begin research


Encyclopedia of American Industries. 3rd edition
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HC 102 .E53 2001
• Published by Gale Group; Rebecca Marlow-Ferguson, editor
• Arranged by SIC code, this 2-volume handbook provides profiles of over 1,000 manufacturing, service and extractive industries in the USA
• “Industry Essays” include all or some of the following: industry snapshot, background and development, organization and structure, current conditions, workforce data, industry leaders, research and technology, “further reading”
• Thoroughness of entries varies, due to the complexity or simplicity of the industry/service under consideration
• More than 350 graphs supplement the essay profiles
• Provides conversion tables for cross-referencing SIC and NAICS classification
• Indexed alphabetically by industries, companies, trade associations, government agencies, sector trends, historical percentages, acronyms and variant names
• An excellent source for concise but incisive profiles on numerous industries


Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources. 18th ed.
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HF 5351 .E592x 2003
• With over 1,100 areas of economic activity and over 33,000 citations, this directory is probably the best print source available for primary data on lesser-known industries/services (as well as major ones)
• Thoroughness of entries varies, due to the complexity or simplicity of the industry/service under consideration
• Entry content may contain all or some of the following: general works, abstracts, indexes, almanacs, yearbooks, bibliographies, biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias, dictionaries, financial ratios, databases, periodicals, price sources, research centers, institutes, statistical sources, professional associations and societies
• Citations are annotated
• This is the source for industries/products as diverse as the affluent market and the tuna fish industry


Encyclopedia of Global Industries (EGI)
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HD 2324 .E53 1996
• Published by Gale Research; Diane M. Sawinski and Wendy H. Mason, editors
• This source “… chronicles the history, development and current status of 115 of the world’s most lucrative and high-profile industries”
• “Industry Essays” may include all or some of the following: industry snapshot, background and development, organization and structure, current conditions, workforce data, industry leaders, research and technology, countries whose involvement in the industry is significant, “further reading”
• Thoroughness of entries varies, due to the complexity or simplicity of the industry/service under consideration
• Includes nearly 500 charts, graphs and tables, most of which were specifically created for the EGI by utilizing the EGI’s sources
• Indexed by SIC classification, location/region, company, trade association, government agency, publication, industry
• Excellent source for worldwide industry information; particularly useful for international business research


Handbook of North American Industry: NAFTA and the Economies of Its Member Nations
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HF 1746 .H36 1998
• Published by Berman Press; John E. Cremeans, editor
• Provides comparative data on the American, Canadian and Mexican economies
• Offers statistical profiles of 30 industry groups in the extractive, manufacturing and service areas
• Includes information on employment projections through 2005, occupational injuries, finance, etc.
• Sources utilized include government and trade association data
• Offers 8-year data for each industry group’s exports/imports and trade balances
• Comprehensive, easy-to-use and of value to the experienced researcher as well as to the novice


Information, Finance & Services USA : Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading Organizations
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HD 9981.4 .I53 2001
• Published by Gale Group; Arsen J. Darney, editor
• Utilizing data from federal, industry and association sources, this handbook provides statistical profiles for 320 industries in 11 prime sectors (including hotels and restaurants)
• Entry content may contain all or some of the following: general statistics (national figures for industry’s number of establishments, total employment, total payroll), indices of change (trends), selected ratios, state-by-state data on establishments/employment, payroll, concentration of industry by region, leading companies (contact information, company type, annual sales, annual number of employees)
• Thoroughness of entries varies, due to the complexity or simplicity of the industry/service under consideration
• Sources cited for all entries
• Excellent source for determining statistical information for economic activity in the industries/services under consideration

Manufacturing & Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Companies (3 vol.)
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HD 9721 .M3459 2000
• Published by the Gale Group; Arsen J. Darnay, editor
• Using industry data compiled by the federal government and Ward’s Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies, this handbook provides statistical profiles on the manufacturing, wholesale and retail sectors of the U.S. economy for 856 distinct industries
• Industry profiles organized by SIC and NAICS
• Each industry entry may contain all or some of the following: general statistics (national figures for an industry’s number of establishments, total employment, total payroll, indices of change (trends), selected ratios, state-by-state data on establishments/employment/payroll, industry concentration by region, leading companies (contact information, public or private status, CEO, annual sales, number of employees, product share details)
• Some industry profiles provide historical statistical data back to 1982, a useful feature for tracking industry growth
• Thoroughness of entries varies, due to the complexity or simplicity of the industry under consideration
• Indexed by SIC/NAICS, product/activity, company
• Sources cited for all entries
• Excellent source for determining statistical information for economic activity in the industries under consideration

MarketShare Reporter (2 vol.)
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HF 5410 .M35 2006
• Published by the Gale Group; Robert S. Lazich, editor
• “An annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products, and services”
• More than 3,600 updated and new entries
• Market share data categories include corporate, institutional, brand name, products/services
• Shares are listed by percentage or dollar figure
• Public sector activity as well as private is included
• Market share data for almost 6,100 companies, more than 3,000 brands and 2,300 products/services
“Now includes World Market Share Reporter”
• Sources credited for all entries
• Excellent source for determining the strength of companies within a given industry
• Great source for market data for obscure, hard-to-find product and service lines


RMA Annual Statement Studies
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HF 5681 .B2 R58 2005 - 2006
• Published by the Risk Management Association
• Formerly published by Robert Morris Associates
• Presents composite financial data for over 600 industries, arranged by SIC classification


Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HC 106.6 .S74 2005
• This 3-volume handbook profiles 52 major industry groups, from manufacturing, service, financial and extractive sectors
• Industry profiles range from 25 to 50 pages (although most average 30 to 35 pages)
• Typical profile covers the following: current environment (overview), profile (trends, how the industry operates, ratios and statistics), references (books, magazines, websites), composite industry data, comparative company analysis
• More than 1,200 companies appear in the “Comparative Industry Analysis” tables
• “Industry Tables” provide statistics from Standard & Poor’s 500 and 1500 indexes
• “Industry Outlooks and Charts” offers short investment reviews and price graphs for 115 industries in the Standard & Poor’s 1500 index
• Excellent source for well-written analyses of 52 of the most prominent industries in the U.S.


U.S. Market Trends & Forecasts. 3rd edition
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HF 5415.1 .U7 2002
• Published by the Gale Group; Amanda C. Quick, editor
• Presents market trend data for 26 industry sectors (and 294 sub-groups)
• Includes data on lodging, foodservice, food products, gaming, recreation and leisure activities, tourism, travel
• Concentrates data on market size, market sector, brief commentary, market history (some industries have projections from 1995 through 2000; others offer projections for 2000 through 2005)
• Identifies sources utilized in the compilation of the handbook
• Over 1,000 graphics in table or pie chart format organize data for easy comprehension; a limited number have company market share data
• Includes SIC and NAICS conversion guide
• General index includes industries, companies, associations, legislation, terminology
• Clear, concise and easy to use, this source is excellent for market trends for manufacturing and service industries in the US


Compiled by Rick Keogh, 5/99; revised 11/02, 6/03, 1/06


back to top

J&W home J&W Library home