ENTREPRENEURSHIP RESOURCES

• DATABASES

To find journal articles on entrepreneurship and small business topics, go to Business Databases and begin searching in Business & Company Resource Center or Business Source Premier.  Other helpful databases include Hoover's Academic, and Plunkett Research.

• REFERENCE BOOKS at the Providence—Downcity Campus

To find books on entrepreneurship and small business topics, search the Library Catalog. Suggested subjects to search are "entrepreneur" or "small business."

The following is a listing of general entrepreneurial and small business resources available at J&W Please check the Library Catalog for more titles:

I.  PLANNING

Small Business Legal Guide
Ref. KF1659.Z9 .S525 1995
A guide to the legal aspects of starting and managing your own business.

Small Business Sourcebook
Ref. HD2346 .U6 S66 2002
Lists sources of start-up information, associations, educational programs, suppliers, publications, trade shows and conventions, etc. Also gives general information on federal government agencies, associations and consultants.

Business Plans Handbook
Ref. HD62.7 .B865 1994
A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America.

Free Money From the Federal Government for Small Businesses and Entrepreneurs
Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 .C32 1996
Provides information on 1,500 grants for small businesses from 52 federal government agencies. Instructions on how to apply for grants are included.

Starting and Operating a Business in Rhode Island
Ref. KFR234 .J36 1994
A step-by-step guide to doing business in Rhode Island. Covers how to choose the legal structure of a business and legal requirements of running a business.

Franchise Opportunities Handbook
Ref. HF5429.3 .F694 1994
A directory, arranged by type of business, of companies that offer franchise opportunities. Includes a description of the franchise, information on fees and royalties.

Encyclopedia of Associations
Ref. AS22 .E5 2001
A guide to 23,000 national trade, business and commercial organizations. Associations can provide information and links to others in similar business activities.

II. SUPPLIERS

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Ref. T12 .T6 2001
A national guide to manufacturers of almost every kind of product. Reproductions of the catalogs of many companies are included.

Thomas Food Industry Register
Ref. HD9321.3 .T5 2000-01
A buying guide for the food industry, it lists wholesalers, distributors, brokers, importers, exporters, etc. for various food-related products.

III. MARKETING

Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics
Ref. HA203 .S66 2000
50 demographics variables for 29,525 residential zip codes.

Sourcebook of County Demographics
Ref. HA203 .S65 2000
Spending Potential Indices for 20 product/service categories.

IV. RESEARCHING THE COMPETITION

Rhode Island Business Directory

Ref. HF5065 .R4 R46 2000
Lists RI businesses found in the Yellow Pages of telephone directories. Businesses are listed by category and by city within the category. Information includes company name, address, phone number, number of employees and estimated sales.

back to top

J&W home J&W Library home