|
Research Resources
Databases
Dissertations
Electronic Books
Journal Locator
Other Catalogs
Research Guides
Search Engines
Subject Sites
Library Catalog
Building the Collection
Forms
Site Map
|
|
CAREER PLANNING: REFERENCE BOOKS
American Salaries and Wages Survey
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HD 4973 .A6 2001
This handbook lists over 220 data sources, 89,000 salaries and 2,835 occupational
classifications. An occupational outline of content cross-references job classifications.
Gives a regional/city breakdown for many (but not all) occupations. Gives salary
ranges for many occupations. Includes conversion tables for wages not based on Annual
Salaries, employment projections for 2008 and source citations.
BLR's Job Description Encyclopedia (2 Vol.)
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HD 5549.5 .J613 .B57X 1996
Provides 265 sample job descriptions for the following occupational areas: human
resources, administration, finance, MIS, sales/marketing, engineering, production/maintenance,
distribution, banking/insurance, public service/safety, health care, and others.
Although this is primarily a guide to creating job descriptions, it is also useful
in researching the particulars of wide-ranging lists of jobs.
Career Guide: Dun's Employment Opportunities Directory
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HG 4538 D5 1999 (3 vols.)
Profiles companies that are currently seeking new employees. Each profile contains
the following information: disciplines hired, company overview, career opportunities,
training and career development, benefits, and employment inquiry addresses. Employers
indexed by the following categories: alphabetically, geographically, industry classification,
disciplines hired geographically, internships/work study. Strength lies in listed
benefits, training, career development opportunities and particulars concerning
employment inquiries.
Career Information Center (Series, 13 Vol.)
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 .C32 1996
Each volume covers a basic category and provides an overview of the industry and
general tips on exploring and preparing for jobs in the industry. Most of each volume
is devoted to specific occupational profiles, with over 640 profiles and 3,000 jobs
considered. Profiles include: job summary, definition and nature of the work, education
and training requirements, getting the job, advancement possibilities and employment
outlook, working conditions, earnings and benefits, and where to go for more information.
Well organized and easy to use, this is helpful for the beginning stages of career
planning.
Encyclopedia of Career Change and Work Issues
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HF 5381 .E516 1992
This handbook contains 159 short, informative articles on a variety of career issues,
ranging from "abilities" to "workspace". Articles range from
1-3 pages and are clearly written by qualified contributors. Useful background information.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance (4 Vol.)
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HF 5381 .E52 2000
Volume 1 of this set profiles 91 job fields. Volumes 2-4 provide over 684 job descriptions
for occupations in these fields. Entries include: definition, history, nature of
work, requirements/special requirements, opportunities for experience and exploration,
methods of entering, advancement, employment outlook, earnings, conditions of work,
sources or additional information. While not the most comprehensive source, it does
an excellent job for those occupations which it examines.
Job Hunter's Sourcebook
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HF 5382.75 .U6 .J63 1999
This handbook is broken into two parts. Part One, Sources of Job Hunting Information
by Professions and Occupations, provides data for 192 professional and occupational
groups. Entries include: sources of help wanted ads, placement and job referral
services, employer directories and networking lists, handbooks and manuals, employment
agencies and search firms, and other leads. Part Two, Source s of Essential Job
Hunting Information, provides sources on job search strategies (interviewing skills,
career transitions and alternatives, etc.) and specialized employment situations
(disabled, older workers, veterans, etc.). Index to information sources. This resource's
chief strength is the mechanics of the actual job search process.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. Desk HF 5381 .U62 2000-2001
This popular source, published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, provides
detailed job descriptions for over 250 occupations. Entries include: nature of the
work, working conditions, employment, hiring and other qualifications, job outlook,
earnings, related occupations, and additional sources of information. Occupational
profiles cover approximately 85% of job categories in the nation. Also provides
material on job forecasting through 2005./p>
Professional and Occupational Licensing Directory
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HD 3630 .U6 .P76 1993
Covers over 500 occupations (as well as additional specific job titles) from over
1,000 state and federal licensing agencies and boards. Entries include: occupational
name, licensing agency, credential types, duration of license, requirements, examination,
fees, and governing statute. Indexed geographically by state. This is the only comprehensive
source on this aspect of career planning.
Professional Careers Sourcebook
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 .P76 2000
Profiles 119 professional and technical occupations. Each profile entry lists up
to 11 categories of information: job descriptions, career guides, professional associations,
standards/certification agencies, test guides and certification examinations, educational
directories and programs, awards, scholarships, grants, and fellowships, reference
guides and handbooks, professional and trade periodicals, professional meetings
and conventions, and other sources. While not comprehensive, this resource provides
thorough coverage for those fields under discussion.
Vocational Careers Sourcebook
Downcity Campus Library
Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 .V62 2000
Profiles 134 vocational occupations. Each profile entry lists up to 11 categories
of information: job descriptions, career guides, associations, standards/certification
agencies, test guides and certification examinations, educational directories and
programs, awards, scholarships, grants and fellowships, reference guides and handbooks,
periodicals, meetings and conventions, and other sources. Includes job growth projections
from 1992-2006. Primary interests are the listings for food service, sales and travel.
In addition to the above-mentioned sources, the library has titles in the following
series: Career Advisor series, National Business Employment Weekly premier guide
series, and VGM Career Series.
back to top
|