|
Research Resources
Databases
Dissertations
Electronic Books
Journal Locator
Other Catalogs
Research Guides
Search Engines
Subject Sites
Library Catalog
Building the Collection
Forms
Site Map
|
|
general topics | american government/history |
BUSINESS | computer
science | countries | culinary | education |
health/nutrition | hospitality | law/criminal
justice | literature
| MARKET RESEARCH | a-z
Off-campus access: Most J&W resources will prompt you to type your first name, last name, and the 14-digit barcode number on your Johnson & Wales University I.D. If you
are asked to use other login methods, please follow the instructions that are provided.
Advertising Redbooks.com (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
How do businesses advertise their services or products—billboards, branded entertainment/ events, catalogs, email, magazines & newspapers, mobile transit (busses, trucks), radio, sweepstakes, telemarketers, T.V., Web, Yellow Pages? Which ad agencies do they use, and how much do they spend annually on advertising? The Redbooks.com directory lists nearly 18,000 U.S. & international public & private companies who spend at least $200,000 annually on advertising, 19,000 profiles of ad agencies with their corporate clients, and 91,000 brand names. You can limit your search of advertisers and agencies by state, country, or other criteria. Otain basic data such as a business description, contact info, plus a list of competitors! Enter the company name of an advertiser or agency OR:
• To search for companies within a specific industry such as apparel,
computers, financial services, food retailers, hotels, restaurants, travel:
See “For Advertisers” and select from the drop-down list under “Bus. Classification.”
• To search for ad agencies by their area of specialization such as event planning & marketing, fashion/apparel, food service, leisure, sports marketing, travel & tourism: See “For Agencies” and select from the drop-down list under “Agency Specialization.”
• IMPORTANT: Please click on "Logout" when you are finished. Only a limited number of users can access Redbooks at the same time. If you are temporarily unable to access Redbooks because the connection is busy, please try again.
Apparel Market Research Handbook 2006 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
The U.S. apparel market is analyzed. Chapters cover Accessories (footwear, jewelry, leather & luggage), Athletic Apparel, Infant and Toddler Clothing, Women’s & Men's Apparel, Tween to Teen Apparel, Plus-size Apparel, Sportswear, and Swimwear. Key markets are assessed such as Baby-Boomers, Back-to-School, Catalog and Online Markets, and Christmas Holiday Shopping. Other chapters cover Advertising, Capital Expenditures & New Stores, Designer Brands, Licensed Apparel, Profiles of Key Retailers, and Recent Market Trends & Outlook.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Beverages Market Research Handbook 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
The U.S. beverage industry is a $300 billion market, and the average person in America consumes 192.0 gallons of beverages annually according to the Beverage Marketing Corporation. Learn more about the U.S. market for refreshment and nonalcoholic beverages (bottled water, coffee, tea, energy and sports drinks, soda), alcoholic beverages, beverage-focused leisure (wine & beer festivals, winery & brewery tours), data on consumption trends, consumer spending, demographics, and market trends for all beverage segments.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Casinos 2007 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
A comprehensive look at all kinds of casinos: “Combined, the gross gaming revenues of 512 casinos in the U.S. in 2006 were $58.6 billion.” Explore Canadian, Caribbean, Commercial, Cruise & Offshore, Land-based, Racetrack/Racinos, Riverboat or Dockside, and Tribal casinos. State-by-state statistics, where available, compare the number of casinos & their square footage, bingo seats, gaming machines & gaming revenue, poker tables, slot machines & slot revenue, and table games. Other areas of casinos include their Entertainment (boxing & ultimate fighting, Las Vegas shows), Lodging (casino hotels, state-by-state), Nightlife (nightclubs & “ultralounges”), Restaurants (celebrity chefs), and Retail Stores, and Amenities (amusement parks & roller coasters, golf, marinas, museums, and spas). Casinos are also a destination for conventions & meetings (convention facilities, state-by-state). Check out Casino Destinations (reasons for visiting & frequency, gaming behavior & budgets, entertainment, visitor demographics). How do casinos market themselves (cash services, loyalty programs, comps & promotions, junkets)? What are the customer/player demographics (high rollers, diversity)? Plus, profiles of major casino corporations.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Consumer Behavior 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
“Why do consumers buy and what influences their purchasing decisions?” American lifestyles are changing (the 24/7 hour society, the online world, and the impact of tech trends at home and at work). Demographics accompany various consumer groups organized by gender, age (Baby boomers, Generation X, Millennials), ethnicity, income level, and consumers with disabilities). Timely chapters cover customer concerns such as product safety and green consumerism.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile Web 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
$350 billion is spent annually on Internet content, access, e-commerce, and online advertising! This handbook looks at Internet use and expenditure in the U.S. Online activities are wide-ranging and include social networking (Facebook, MySpace), blogs, podcasts, banking & finance, entertainment, gambling, job hunting, hobbies
(culinary arts, genealogy), house hunting, shopping, travel planning, and reference websites that are educational and health-related. Find demographics about online users and how they stay connected through wireless Internet access and mobile devices such as cellphones,
and PDAs (Personal Digital Assistants).
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook 2007
(Providence Campus) on campus | off campus
Industry trends in 2007? Parts II & IV look at Media & Advertising and Marketing & Promotion. All forms of media are covered including Cable & Satellite Services (Internet Protocol TV, Pay-per-view, Video-on-demand, VoIP ‘Voice-over Internet Protocol’), Consumer Magazines, Newspapers Online, College Newspapers, Internet, Mobile Media, Broadcast versus Satellite Radio, and Digital TV. How do you promote your corporate image and also practice corporate social responsibility? Learn more about “green initiatives” & marketing and socially-conscious ad agencies. Other chapters cover Branding & Naming Rights (colleges, convention centers, sports venues, shopping malls, hospitals). Part III covers Entertainment and includes Consumer-Generated Content via the Internet (MySpace, YouTube, blogs, podcasts), Top Tours, Video Gamer Demographics, and Illegal Downloading/Music Piracy.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Gaming & Wagering 2007 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
“U.S. consumers spent $131.6 billion on legal gaming & wagering in 2006...” in all types of gaming activities: Bingo, Casinos (land-based, racinos, riverboat, tribal), Lotteries (multi-state mega-jackpot games), Online Gambling (demographics of online gamblers, online sports betting, online poker), Parimutuel Handle (greyhound dog racing, thoroughbred horse & harness racing, Jai-Alai), Mobile Wagering (wireless gaming on handsets for sports betting), Poker (card rooms, poker on TV), Slots & Electronic Gaming Machines, Sports Betting (casino sportsbooks, March Madness, NASCAR car races, Super bowl), Table Games (Black Jack, roulette, RFID-embedded casino chips to track players’ gambling patterns & activities), and Video Lottery Terminals. Find State-by-state data (gaming commissions and regulatory agencies, greyhound & thoroughbred racing, lottery sales & per capita spending, video lottery terminals). Plus, profiles of key gaming & wagering corporations.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Hoover’s Academic Online (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
COMPANIES: In-depth information for 43,000 U.S. & international public and top private companies.
• Under Browse Company Record, link to Competitive Landscape
(compare a company’s data with 3 of its top competitors within the same industry), corporate history, financials including historical, SEC Filings (easy-to-view annual reports), stock market data, products/operations, company news updates, key executives, and more. See Data Definitions for an explanation of financial terms such as different types of ratios.
• Under Company Record Tools, link to Build a Custom Report. Select and display company data in PDF or HTML formats to use in presentations, job interviews, or marketing research.
INDUSTRIES: For short overviews select First Research Industry Profiles, which are organized under 11 categories: Construction & Real Estate, Finance & Insurance, Food & Agriculture, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Public Services/Education/Recreation, Retail, Services, Technology & Communications, Transportation/Energy/Storage, and Wholesale.
NOTE: "Expanded Access Needed" indicates that some industry data is not available through the University's academic subscription and may be purchased as pay-per-views.
Hotels & Resorts 2007 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
What are the top issues facing the U.S. lodging industry in 2007 & 2008? Labor shortage of qualified and skilled employees, changing travel patterns, keeping up with technology, and consumers confused by brand proliferation. Chapter 5 covers Geodemographics (geographic analysis): Top U.S. metropolitan areas are ranked by room revenues, occupancy rates, and related hotel statistics. Other chapters report on all types of lodging from bed & breakfasts (B&B’s), budget motels, to luxury resorts and timeshares. Trends? Green & Socially-Responsible Hospitality, Guest Amenities (accommodations for pet owners, fitness facilities, high-speed Internet access, spas, premium or upgraded bedding), Events & Special Packages, Accomodations for Female Business Travelers, All-Girl Getaways, “Mancations”, and Hotel Waterparks. Chapter 19 covers Food & Beverage Operations, Catering, and Fine Dining in Hotels.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Leisure Market Research Handbook 2007 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
Market research explores how “consumers spend their non-working time and discretionary income” on leisure activities and hobbies. Statistics on expenditures and participation, market characteristics, trends, and demographics! Look at consumer’s use of time such as the impact of Internet use on leisure activities, multitasking, time use by Teens and Tweens, plus the psychology of leisure (crave for luxury, psychology of fads). Numerous and unique markets include Ballroom Dancing, Book Clubs, Catering to the Pet Market (pet-friendly hotels, retailers & malls), Continuing Education (a lifelong pursuit of learning), Culinary Arts & Tourism (cooking schools—Johnson & Wales University, food TV), Do-It-Yourself Projects (DIY versus DIFM), Games (poker, sudoku, video), Gambling (casino markets, online gambling), Online Activities (blogs, personal websites), Spas, Spectator Sports (American sports fan, extreme sports, ticket prices & fan cost index), Theme Experiences (experiential travel—buying “experiences”), Transition To Digital Photography, Wellness & Fitness Marketplace (seeking the fountain of youth).
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
MRI+ Internet Reporter (Denver & Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Market studies containing consumer demographics are used to describe the "readers, viewers, or listeners of various media such as magazines, TV, radio, and Websites. " Comparative data can found under "Pocketpieces: Top-Line Reports. " Note: You will first need to set up your own account with your Johnson & Wales email address and a password of your choice. more information
Plunkett Research Online
on campus | off campus
Valuable industry information for students and job seekers in various fields including Advertising & Branding; Airlines, Hotel & Travel; Apparel & Textiles; Banking; Biotechnology; Computers & Software; Consulting; Entertainment & Media; Food & Beverage Industry; Health Care; Investment; Retail; Sports Industry; Transportation, Supply Chain & Logistics; Telecommunications; Wireless, Cellular, Wi-Fi & RFID. Each type of industry gives you market research & trends, statistics, company profiles, names of associations within specific industries and occupations, and a glossary of industry-specific terms with their definitions.
• Under "Industry Research Centers" see “Job Seekers Resources & Tools” to check the U.S. job market and trends among American employers, link to major job search engines, learn how to use your college placement office and library to research a company and its industry before a job interview, with tips for applying to jobs online. Use the current edition of Occupational Outlook Handbook to look up job titles, training, education, and other qualifications needed for hiring and advancement, earnings/salaries, and a general description of job duties and working conditions.
Restaurant & Foodservice Market Research Handbook 2008
(Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
The restaurant and foodservice industry is a $558 billion market and employs over 13.1 million people according to the National Restaurant Association (NRA). “More than 90% of graduates who spend up to $50,000 a year to attend culinary schools find jobs in the industry” (2007 National Survey of Post Secondary American Culinary Programs). See statistics for restaurant sales state-by-state and for major cities, as well as customer demographics. A chapter on “socially responsible dining” discusses eco-friendly operations, animal welfare issues, and charitable activities. Keep up with the latest trends in menus, daypart analysis (including snacks and late-night), takeout, price promotions, interactive (online) promotions, reservations policies, and online/mobile ordering. Over 300 restaurant chain websites are analyzed to guide restaurateurs who are planning next-generation websites.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Retail Business Market Research Handbook 2006 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
Market research looks at the U.S. Retail sector. Chapters look at how, why, and where consumers shop. Many types of merchandise and stores are discussed such as Catalog & Mail-Order Retail, Chain Department Stores, Closeout & Off-Price Chains, Convenience Stores, Discount Stores & Supercenters, Dollar Stores, E-Commerce, Resale & Thrift Stores, Television Home Shopping, and Warehouse Clubs. Key seasonal and holiday markets include Back-to-School, Bridal & Wedding Market, Christmas Holiday Shopping. Latest trends covered include Counterfeit Goods, Gift Cards, Kiosks & Self-checkout Transactions, and Multi-channel Retail.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Sports Marketing 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
The sports business marketplace is estimated at $185 billion! “Marketers increasingly use sports as a promotional vehicle.” Topics cover advertising (athlete endorsements, naming rights & advertising signage in stadiums & arenas), concessions/foodservice at sports venues, and licensing memorabilia. Team sports cover the professional major leagues, collegiate & high school sports. Individual sports include golf, boxing, car racing (INDY, NASCAR), horse racing, martial arts, marathons & triathlons, poker, video gaming, and world wresting. Global sports cover the Olympics, Tour de France, and World Cups. Who makes up the “fan base”? Fan demographics are included for many types of sports.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
SRDS Titles: Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Interactive Advertising Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source, and TV & Cable Source (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
What would it cost to advertise your business or service in various media formats (magazines, newspapers, radio, television, websites)? Find standardized ad rates, circulation figures, demographics of your targeted audience where available (age, gender, education level, marital status, special interests), contact information for publisher/sales, and requirements for submission depending on the type of media. At the welcome page “Click here to access SRDS Services.” All 5 subscribed titles are listed in two locations: Under “My Services” and in the “Go To” drop-down menu. How-to-use service guides are available in PDF format for several titles.
Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
Travel expenditures in the United States are projected at $777.2 billion for 2008 according to the Travel Industry Association (TIA). Key areas of the travel market are covered: Air travel, business travel, casinos, car rental agencies, cruises, golf travel, hotels, leisure & family travel, museums & historical attractions, romantic destinations, seasonal travel, theme parks & festivals, and traveler shopping. See tourism statistics (visitors & expenditures) state-by-state and for major cities and tourist destinations.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
back to top
|