GENERAL TOPICS | american government/history | business | computer science/technology
countries
| culinary | education | health/nutrition | hospitality | law/criminal justice | literature |
market research | science | a-z


GENERAL TOPICS


Off-campus access: Most J&W resources will prompt you to type your first name, last name, and the 14-digit barcode number along the bottom edge of your Johnson & Wales University I.D.  If you are asked to use other login methods, please follow the instructions that are provided.


ABC-CLIO eBook Collection (formerly Greenwood) (All Campuses)
on and off campus

Choose from over 100 e-book titles in wide-ranging areas such as the Arts, Business, Crime & Justice, Economics, Education, Family Studies/Issues, Food, Health/Medicine, History, Law, Library & Information Science, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Popular Culture, Psychology, Reference, Religious Studies, Science, Sociology, Women's Studies. 
NOTE: To make the text larger for easier readability, use the “Settings” link. 


Academic Search Premier
on campus  |  off campus

Scholarly, multi-discipline database providing many full text articles for nearly all academic areas of study including arts & literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.


Biography Resource Center
on campus  |  off campus

Biographies of people worldwide in many fields throughout history: artists, authors, business and government leaders, chefs, historical figures, politicians, popular entertainers, scientists, sports figures, and people currently in the news. Search for people based on nationality, ethnicity, occupation, gender, and birth or death year.


CountryWatch (Premium)  (Charlotte, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Over 100 countries with overviews of a country’s economy (macroeconomics), in-depth country statistics including tourism statistics, cultural etiquette (do’s & don’ts for business travelers), maps, environmental issues, government structure, and political news updated daily around the world.  More information


Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (All Campuses)
on and off campus

Over 4,000 full-text scholarly and scientific journals in various languages cover wide-ranging areas including Biology & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry, Environmental Sciences, Food Sciences, General Works, Health, Literature, Law & Political Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Philosophy & Religion, Science General, Social Sciences, Technology & Engineering. 
NOTE:
A few publishers may ask you to register online free of charge in order to access their journals, but if you are ever prompted to pay for access please notify a librarian at your campus.



Emerald Management Extra 110  (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Selective, full-text management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. 
NOTE: For full-text articles only, choose either "Quick Search" or "Advanced Search" and check off "My subscribed content."


FirstSearch (Dissertation Abstracts, ERIC, MEDLINE, and more)
(Providence Campus)  on campus only
 
Primarily for JWU’s graduate degree programs.  Abstracts only of journal articles.
ACCESS: See a Reference Librarian for assistance to log onto FirstSearch. Then, to obtain the complete article, please complete and submit the Inter-Library Loan Journal Article Request Form online.


Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (All Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Over 25,000 entries cover many subjects including country information, brief biographies of both historical and contemporary figures, plus photos, diagrams, and charts.  To browse the complete list of images: check mark “Images Available” and click “Search.”


Global Road Warrior (Charlotte, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)

on campus  |  off campus

Find information on 175 countries & their cultures!  Look up country geo stats and facts, demographics, money & banking, the business culture with advice for businesswomen, society & culture, travel essentials (documents), points of interest, plus photos and many kinds of maps.


GreenFILE (All Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Full-text articles from these three journals (BMC Ecology, Environmental Health Perspectives, and Environmental Health: A Global Access Science Source) and indexing to articles in JWU’s other EBSCO databases.


History Reference Center  (All Campuses)
on campus | off campus

Selective full-text articles from history magazines, reference books, historical documents, photos, maps, videos, and biographies of historical figures.  Timeline: U.S. History from 1492 to the present and World History from 3500 BC to present.


LexisNexis Academic (All Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Full-text access to nearly 6,000 news sources (international newspapers, TV & radio broadcast transcripts, magazines); business sources (company profiles, SEC filings/annual reports); legal information (law reviews, court opinions, and federal and state statutes & cases); and brief biographies of people around the world.  To find Hoover’s Company Records: Go to the Business tab, Company Profiles, then the Sources drop-down menu.


MAS Ultra - School Edition (All Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Biographies, book reviews, articles from popular general interest magazines, and the full text of reference books (including Columbia Encyclopedia, CIA World Fact Book, World Almanac & Book of Facts), health and science-related pamphlets, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.


Opposing Viewpoints (Denver, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Current event topics and controversial social issues: Support your point of view with facts from statistical tables, primary documents/government publications, photographs, and full-text magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.  


Providence Journal-Bulletin Full-Text (Providence Campus)
on campus  |  off campus

Selective, full-text articles from Rhode Island's leading newspaper.


SAGE Journals Online (Premier edition) (Providence Campus)  
on campus  | off campus

Over 450 full-text journals from 1999-to the current year covering scholarly research in wide-ranging areas such as Accounting, Administration, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice & Juvenile Justice, Cross-Cultural Research, Education & Teacher Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science & Technology, Hospitality, Information Science, Language & Literature, Leadership, Marketing, Sports Economics, and Travel & Tourism.
NOTE: Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” after entering your search terms or after selecting Browse list of journals for full-text journals available to JWU.


ScholarsArchive@JWU (All Campuses)
on and off campus

The ScholarsArchive@JWU is a digital showcase that provides open access to journal articles, working papers, dissertations and theses, restaurant menus, and other creative works collected and published by the Johnson & Wales University faculty, staff, colleges, departments, and students.


Science Resource Center  (Denver, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Find journal articles covering wide-ranging scientific topics.  See also “Science-Related Tools” for the “MegaConverter” with links to cooking conversions, currency and language converters, math conversions,  wine & spirits measures (beverage, bartending), and much more.

 
Wall Street Journal through ProQuest (All Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Selective, full-text newspaper articles are available from the world's leading financial newspaper.  Updated daily, content covers companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Coverage is from 1984 to present; images are not available.


Updated 12/2009


back to top

J&W home J&W Library home