general topics | american government/history | business | computer sciencecountries | culinary | education | health/nutrition | HOSPITALITY | law/criminal justice | literature | market research | a-z


Off-campus access: Most J&W resources will prompt you to type your first name, last name, and the 14-digit barcode number on your Johnson & Wales University I.D.  If you
are asked to use other login methods, please follow the instructions that are provided.


Academic Search Premier
on campus | off campus

Scholarly, multi-discipline database providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.


Advertising Redbooks.com  (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus

How do businesses advertise their services or products—billboards, branded entertainment/ events, catalogs, email, magazines & newspapers, mobile transit (busses, trucks), radio, sweepstakes, telemarketers, T.V., Web, Yellow Pages?  Which ad agencies do they use, and how much do they spend annually on advertising? The Redbooks.com directory lists nearly 18,000 U.S. & international public & private companies who spend at least $200,000 annually on advertising, 19,000 profiles of ad agencies with their corporate clients, and 91,000 brand names.  You can limit your search of advertisers and agencies by state, country, or other criteria.  Otain basic data such as a business description, contact info, plus a list of competitors!  Enter the company name of an advertiser or agency OR:
• To search for companies within a specific industry such as apparel, computers, financial services, food retailers, hotels, restaurants, travel: See “For Advertisers” and select from the drop-down list under “Bus. Classification.”
• To search for ad agencies by their area of specialization such as event planning & marketing, exhibit/trade shows, fashion/apparel, food service, leisure, sports marketing, travel & tourism: See “For Agencies” and select from the drop-down list under “Agency Specialization.”
• IMPORTANT: Please click on "Logout" when you are finished.  Only a limited number of users can access Redbooks at the same time.  If you are temporarily unable to access Redbooks because the connection is busy, please try again. 


Business Source Premier
on campus | off campus

Selective full-text articles from international business journals cover all disciplines of business and include: Accounting, economics, finance, marketing, personnel management, management information systems (MIS), and production and operations management (POM). Plus, you can link directly to full-text Company Profiles from Datamonitor, Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, and SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats).


Casinos 2007   (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus

A comprehensive look at all kinds of casinos: “Combined, the gross gaming revenues of 512 casinos in the U.S. in 2006 were $58.6 billion.”  Explore Canadian, Caribbean, Commercial, Cruise & Offshore, Land-based, Racetrack/Racinos, Riverboat or Dockside, and Tribal casinos.  State-by-state statistics, where available, compare the number of casinos & their square footage, bingo seats, gaming machines & gaming revenue, poker tables, slot machines & slot revenue, and table games.  Other areas of casinos include their Entertainment (boxing & ultimate fighting, Las Vegas shows), Lodging (casino hotels, state-by-state), Nightlife (nightclubs & “ultralounges”), Restaurants (celebrity chefs), and Retail Stores, and Amenities (amusement parks & roller coasters, golf, marinas, museums, and spas).  Casinos are also a destination for conventions & meetings (convention facilities, state-by-state).  Check out Casino Destinations (reasons for visiting & frequency, gaming behavior & budgets, entertainment, visitor demographics).  How do casinos market themselves (cash services, loyalty programs, comps & promotions, junkets)?  What are the customer/player demographics (high rollers, diversity)?  Plus, profiles of major casino corporations.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.


CountryWatch
 (Premium)  (Charlotte, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus 

192 countries are covered in a variety of timely reports and include:
Country Review is updated once a year or as major events occur. From the sidebar, choose from 6 “Overviews” to select specific information including the examples below: COUNTRY (key data, maps), ECONOMIC (key sector data—tourism statistics), ENVIRONMENTAL, INVESTMENT (foreign investment climate, taxation), POLITICAL (biographies of leaders, history, human rights), SOCIAL (cultural etiquette do’s and taboos for business travelers, status of women, travel guide—checklist & tips).
• CountryWatch Data gives you 10 years of in-depth country statistics, where available.  Scroll through the list of individual data items, or checkmark “Use Category Filters” to select from 5 groups of data: CULTURAL (education, life expectancy/disease, population demographics, religion, standard of living).  ECONOMIC SECTOR DATA (crops, energy, forestry, manufacturing, meat, metals, services).  ENVIRONMENTAL (greenhouse gases). MACROECONOMICS (employment, external debt, fiscal balance, GDP, money & inflation, sector employment, stock market, trade balance).  PHYSICAL (country data, land characteristics).  Statistical results for all 5 categories are displayed as tables which can be downloaded into an Excel spreadsheet.
• CountryWatch Map Gallery offers thematic and political/physical maps.
• Country Wire is updated daily as news stories become available from wire services across the globe and provides various cultural and political points of view.
Intelligence Briefings are updated weekly to inform you of significant political events around the world.


CultureGrams Online  (No. Miami and Providence Campuses)  
on campus | off campus

Cultural reports for over 200 countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian Provinces are updated annually. Create-your-own statistical tables to compare country data, U.S. state data, and the Provinces—select just the categories that interest you.
• World Edition: Over 200 country reports look at customs & courtesies such as gestures & greetings (etiquette do’s & don’ts), economy, food including eating customs and diet/cuisine, general attitudes, geography, government, history, lifestyle (family, dating & marriage), population, religion, and links to a world currency converter. Plus, country statistics for economy, energy, health, life expectancy, literacy, population, transportation, and more.
States Edition: Explore a state’s economy, geography, government, history time line, and population. State data tables cover education, household size, income, population, and travel time to work.
Recipe Collection: Five native recipes from each country.
Famous People: Link to short biographies of famous people in each country around the world. Note: For well-known people in each of the United States, see “States Edition.”


Emerald Management Extra 110  (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus

Primarily, the full text of management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Healthcare, Hospitality, Human Resources and Professional Development, Library Services and Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition and Food Science.


Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook 2007
(Providence Campus)  on campus | off campus

Industry trends in 2007?  Parts II & IV look at Media & Advertising and Marketing & Promotion.  All forms of media are covered including Cable & Satellite Services (Internet Protocol TV, Pay-per-view, Video-on-demand, VoIP ‘Voice-over Internet Protocol’), Consumer Magazines, Newspapers Online, College Newspapers, Internet, Mobile Media, Broadcast versus Satellite Radio, and Digital TV.  How do you promote your corporate image and also practice corporate social responsibility?  Learn more about “green initiatives” & marketing and socially-conscious ad agencies.  Other chapters cover Branding & Naming Rights (colleges, convention centers, sports venues, shopping malls, hospitals).  Part III covers Entertainment and includes Consumer-Generated Content via the Internet (MySpace, YouTube, blogs, podcasts), Top Tours, Video Gamer Demographics, and Illegal Downloading/Music Piracy.
ACCESS:
Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.


Gaming & Wagering 2007 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus

“U.S. consumers spent $131.6 billion on legal gaming & wagering in 2006...” in all types of gaming activities: Bingo, Casinos (land-based, racinos, riverboat, tribal), Lotteries (multi-state mega-jackpot games), Online Gambling (demographics of online gamblers, online sports betting, online poker), Parimutuel Handle (greyhound dog racing, thoroughbred horse & harness racing, Jai-Alai), Mobile Wagering (wireless gaming on handsets for sports betting), Poker (card rooms, poker on TV), Slots & Electronic Gaming Machines, Sports Betting (casino sportsbooks, March Madness, NASCAR car races, Super bowl), Table Games (Black Jack, roulette, RFID-embedded casino chips to track players’ gambling patterns & activities), and Video Lottery Terminals. Find State-by-State data (gaming commissions and regulatory agencies, greyhound & thoroughbred racing, lottery sales & per capita spending, video lottery terminals).  Plus, profiles of key gaming & wagering corporations. 
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.


General BusinessFile ASAP
on campus | off campus

Analyses of company performance, industry events, and the latest trends in management, economics, and politics. Access trade publications, newspapers, and journal articles.


Hoover’s Academic Online (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)
on campus  | off campus

COMPANIES:  In-depth information for 43,000 U.S. & international public and top private companies. 
• Under Browse Company Record, link to Competitive Landscape
(compare a company’s data with 3 of its top competitors within the same industry), corporate history, financials including historical, SEC Filings (easy-to-view annual        reports), stock market data, products/operations, company news updates, key executives, and more.  See Data Definitions for an explanation of financial terms such as different types of ratios. 
• Under Company Record Tools, link to Build a Custom Report.  Select and display company data in PDF or HTML formats to use in presentations, job interviews, or marketing research.
INDUSTRIES:  For short overviews select First Research Industry Profiles, which are organized under 11 categories: Construction & Real Estate, Finance & Insurance, Food & Agriculture, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Public Services/Education/Recreation, Retail, Services, Technology & Communications, Transportation/Energy/Storage, and Wholesale. 
NOTE: "Expanded Access Needed" indicates that some industry data is not available through the University's academic subscription and may be purchased as pay-per-views.


Hospitality & Tourism Complete
on campus | off campus

Full-text articles from over 200 international publications. Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality, travel, & tourism globally. Coverage includes baking & culinary arts, business travel, computer technology, demographics & statistics, development and investment, event management, food & beverage (safety, science, service), gaming and casinos, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure studies, market trends, meetings, nutrition, restaurants, and more. Where available, country-specific information is provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and Datamonitor. Note: To find a complete country report from Datamonitor, type the name of a country plus the words “country profile” within the same search box, for example, Belgium country profile. Over 125 in-depth country profiles appear in PDF report format up to 20+ pages in length. Look up a country’s key facts, economy, geography, politics & government, population demographics, major trading partners, and more.


Hotels & Resorts 2007  (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus

What are the top issues facing the U.S. lodging industry in 2007 & 2008?  Labor shortage of qualified and skilled employees, changing travel patterns, keeping up with technology, and consumers confused by brand proliferation.  Chapter 5 covers Geodemographics (geographic analysis): Top U.S. metropolitan areas are ranked by room revenues, occupancy rates, and related hotel statistics.  Other chapters report on all types of lodging from bed & breakfasts (B&B’s), budget motels, to luxury resorts and timeshares.  Trends? Green & Socially-Responsible Hospitality, Guest Amenities (accommodations for pet owners, fitness facilities, high-speed Internet access, spas, premium or upgraded bedding), Events & Special Packages, Accomodations for Female Business Travelers, All-Girl Getaways, “Mancations”, and Hotel Waterparks.  Chapter 19 covers Food & Beverage Operations, Catering, and Fine Dining in Hotels.
ACCESS:
Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.


Leisure Market Research Handbook 2007 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus

Market research explores how “consumers spend their non-working time and discretionary income” on leisure activities and hobbies.  Statistics on expenditures and participation, market characteristics, trends, and demographics!  Look at consumer’s use of time such as the impact of Internet use on leisure activities, multitasking, time use by Teens and Tweens, plus the psychology of leisure (crave for luxury, psychology of fads).  Numerous and unique markets include Ballroom Dancing, Book Clubs, Catering to the Pet Market (pet-friendly hotels, retailers & malls), Continuing Education (a lifelong pursuit of learning), Culinary Arts & Tourism (cooking schools—Johnson & Wales University, food TV), Do-It-Yourself Projects (DIY versus DIFM), Games (poker, sudoku, video), Gambling (casino markets, online gambling), Online Activities (blogs, personal websites), Spas, Spectator Sports (American sports fan, extreme sports, ticket prices & fan cost index), Theme Experiences (experiential travel—buying “experiences”), Transition To Digital Photography, Wellness & Fitness Marketplace (seeking the fountain of youth). 
ACCESS:
Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.


LexisNexis
Academic
on campus | off campus

A news, business, and legal nformation service with full-text access to nearly 6,000 newspapers, magazines, journals, and reference sources. Includes access to law reviews, court opinions, and federal and state statutes.


Plunkett Research Online
on campus | off campus

Valuable industry information for students and job seekers in various fields including Advertising & Branding; Airlines, Hotel & Travel; Apparel & Textiles; Banking; Biotechnology; Computers & Software; Consulting; Entertainment & Media; Food & Beverage Industry; Health Care; Investment; Retail; Sports Industry; Transportation, Supply Chain & Logistics; Telecommunications; Wireless, Cellular, Wi-Fi & RFID. Each type of industry gives you market research & trends, statistics, company profiles, names of associations within specific industries and occupations, and a glossary of industry-specific terms with their definitions.
Under "Industry Research Centers" see “Job Seekers Resources & Tools” to check the U.S. job market and trends among American employers, link to major job search engines, learn how to use your college placement office and library to research a company and its industry before a job interview, with tips for applying to jobs online.  Use the current edition of Occupational Outlook Handbook to look up job titles, training, education, and other qualifications needed for hiring and advancement, earnings/salaries, and a general description of job duties and working conditions.


Restaurant & Foodservice Market Research Handbook 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus

The restaurant and foodservice industry is a $558 billion market and employs over 13.1 million people according to the National Restaurant Association (NRA).  “More than 90% of graduates who spend up to $50,000 a year to attend culinary schools find jobs in the industry” (2007 National Survey of Post Secondary American Culinary Programs).  See statistics for restaurant sales state-by-state and for major cities, as well as customer demographics.  A chapter on “socially responsible dining” discusses eco-friendly operations, animal welfare issues, and charitable activities.  Keep up with the latest trends in menus, daypart analysis (including snacks and late-night), takeout, price promotions, interactive (online) promotions, reservations policies, and online/mobile ordering.  Over 300 restaurant chain websites are analyzed to guide restaurateurs who are planning next-generation websites.
ACCESS:
Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.  


Sports Marketing 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus

The sports business marketplace is estimated at $185 billion!  “Marketers increasingly use sports as a promotional vehicle.”  Topics cover advertising (athlete endorsements, naming rights & advertising signage in stadiums & arenas), concessions/foodservice at sports venues, licensing memorabilia, sporting goods, sports online via the web and broadcast through TV & radio. Team sports cover the professional major leagues, collegiate & high school sports.  Individual sports include golf, boxing, car racing (INDY, NASCAR), horse racing, martial arts, marathons & triathlons, poker, video gaming, and world wresting.  Global sports cover the Olympics, Tour de France, and World Cups.  Who makes up the “fan base”?  See fan demographics for many types of sports. 
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode. 


Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus

Travel expenditures in the United States are projected at $777.2 billion for 2008 according to the Travel Industry Association (TIA).  Key areas of the travel market are covered: Air travel, business travel, casinos, car rental agencies, cruises, golf travel, hotels, leisure & family travel, museums & historical attractions, romantic destinations, seasonal travel, theme parks & festivals, and traveler shopping.  See tourism statistics (visitors & expenditures) state-by-state and for major cities and tourist destinations.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.


back to top

J&W home J&W Library home