|
Research Resources
Databases
Dissertations
Electronic Books
Journal Locator
Other Catalogs
Research Guides
Search Engines
Subject Sites
Library Catalog
Building the Collection
Forms
Site Map
|
|
general topics | american government/history
| business | computer science/technology
|
countries | culinary | education |
HEALTH/NUTRITION | hospitality | law/criminal justice |
literature
|
market research | science | a-z
HEALTH / NUTRITION
Off-campus access: Most J&W resources will prompt you to type your first name, last name, and the 14-digit barcode number along the bottom edge of your Johnson & Wales University I.D. If you
are asked to use other login methods, please follow the instructions that are provided.
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection (formerly Greenwood) (All Campuses)
on and off campus
Choose from over 100 e-book titles in wide-ranging areas such as the Arts, Business, Crime & Justice, Economics, Education, Family Studies/Issues, Food, Health/Medicine, History, Law, Library & Information Science, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Popular Culture, Psychology, Reference, Religious Studies, Science, Sociology, Women's Studies.
NOTE: To make the text larger for easier readability, use the “Settings” link.
FirstSearch (Dissertation Abstracts, ERIC, MEDLINE, and more)
(Providence Campus) on campus only
Primarily for JWU’s graduate degree programs. Abstracts only of journal articles.
ACCESS: See a Reference Librarian for assistance to log onto FirstSearch. Then, to obtain the complete article, please complete and submit the Inter-Library Loan Journal Article Request Form online.
GreenFILE (All Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Full-text articles from these three journals (BMC Ecology, Environmental Health Perspectives, and Environmental Health: A Global Access Science Source) and indexing to articles in JWU’s other EBSCO databases.
Health & Wellness Resource Center (All Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Selective, full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals plus full content from medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources. Tabbed sections include: Diseases & Conditions, Drugs (possible side effects and drug interactions); Dictionary; Directory (hospitals & health care facilities); and Health Assessment tools.
Health Reference Center Academic (All Campuses)
on campus | off campus
A subset of its parent database Health & Wellness Resource Center, it contains selective, full-text articles on such topics as alcohol & drug abuse, diseases, fitness, nutrition, public health, occupational health & safety, prescription drugs, and more.
LexisNexis Academic (All Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Full-text access to nearly 6,000 news sources (international newspapers, TV & radio broadcast transcripts, magazines); business sources (company profiles, SEC filings/annual reports); legal information (law reviews, court opinions, and federal and state statutes & cases); and brief biographies of people around the world. To find Hoover’s Company Records: Go to the Business tab, Company Profiles, then the Sources drop-down menu.
R.K. Miller’s Marketing Research Handbooks (All Campuses)
on and off campus
Updated annually, in-depth industry information in e-book titles such as Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing; Entertainment, Media & Advertising; Healthcare; Hotels & Resorts; Leisure Market; Restaurant & Foodservice; Retail Business; Sports Marketing; and Travel & Tourism.
SAGE Journals Online (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Over 450 full-text journals from 1999-to the current year covering scholarly research in wide-ranging areas such as Accounting, Administration, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice & Juvenile Justice, Cross-Cultural Research, Education & Teacher Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science & Technology, Hospitality, Information Science, Language & Literature, Leadership, Marketing, Sports Economics, and Travel & Tourism.
NOTE: To retrieve full-text articles published from 1999 to the present, go to the Advanced Search screen. Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year]; otherwise your search results will include citations to articles published before 1999 (abstracts only; no full text).
Science Resource Center (Denver, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Find journal articles covering wide-ranging scientific topics including computer science. See also “Science-Related Tools” for the “MegaConverter” with links to cooking conversions, currency and language converters, math conversions, wine & spirits measures (beverage, bartending), and much more.
Updated 4/2010
back to top
|