|
Research Resources
Databases
Dissertations
Electronic Books
Journal Locator
Other Catalogs
Research Guides
Search Engines
Subject Sites
Library Catalog
Building the Collection
Forms
Site Map
|
|
general topics | american government/history
| business | computer science/technology
|
countries | culinary | EDUCATION | health/nutrition | hospitality | law/criminal justice |
literature
| market research | science | a-z
EDUCATION
Off-campus access: Most J&W resources will prompt you to type your first name, last name, and the 14-digit barcode number along the bottom edge of your Johnson & Wales University I.D. If you
are asked to use other login methods, please follow the instructions that are provided.
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection (formerly Greenwood) (All Campuses)
on and off campus
Choose from over 100 e-book titles in wide-ranging areas such as the Arts, Business, Crime & Justice, Economics, Education, Family Studies/Issues, Food, Health/Medicine, History, Law, Library & Information Science, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Popular Culture, Psychology, Reference, Religious Studies, Science, Sociology, Women's Studies.
NOTE: To make the text larger for easier readability, use the “Settings” link.
Academic Search Premier (All Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Scholarly, multi-discipline database providing many full text articles for nearly all academic areas of study including arts & literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.
Dissertations & Theses @ Johnson & Wales University (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
Dissertations published from 1999 forward by Johnson & Wales University graduates of the doctoral Ed. D. program in Educational Leadership, are available online. Authorized JWU users can download the complete dissertation.
NOTE: If you are prompted to “Order a copy” because a JWU dissertation is unavailable electronically, please complete and submit the Inter-Library Loan Dissertation Request Form online. More information
Education Full Text from H.W. Wilson (Charlotte, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Selective, full-text scholarly articles published from January 1996 to the current year, plus indexing from 1983 and abstracts from 1994 in international, English-language journals and publications including the popular Chronicle of Higher Education.
Emerald Management 120 (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Selective, full-text management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development.
NOTE: For full-text articles only, choose either "Quick Search" or "Advanced Search" and check off "My subscribed content."
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (All Campuses)
on and off campus
The ERIC program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education provides abstracts of articles and indexing for education-related literature.
FirstSearch (Dissertation Abstracts, ERIC, MEDLINE, and more)
(Providence Campus) on campus only
Primarily for JWU’s graduate degree programs. Abstracts only of journal articles.
ACCESS: See a Reference Librarian for assistance to log onto FirstSearch. Then, to obtain the complete article, please complete and submit the Inter-Library Loan Journal Article Request Form online.
JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences IV Collection (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
This retrospective collection makes full-text articles available online from back issues of scholarly journals primarily in the fields of business, education, and law, including several titles in administration, psychology, and public policy.
MAS Ultra - School Edition (All Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Biographies, book reviews, articles from popular general interest magazines, and the full text of reference books (including Columbia Encyclopedia, CIA World Fact Book, World Almanac & Book of Facts), health and science-related pamphlets, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
SAGE Journals Online (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Over 450 full-text journals from 1999-to the current year covering scholarly research in wide-ranging areas such as Accounting, Administration, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice & Juvenile Justice, Cross-Cultural Research, Education & Teacher Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science & Technology, Hospitality, Information Science, Language & Literature, Leadership, Marketing, Sports Economics, Travel & Tourism.
NOTE: To retrieve full-text articles published from 1999 to the present, go to the Advanced Search screen. Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year]; otherwise your search results will include citations to articles published before 1999 (abstracts only; no full text).
ScholarsArchive@JWU (All Campuses)
on and off campus
The ScholarsArchive@JWU is a digital showcase that provides open access to journal articles, working papers, dissertations and theses, restaurant menus, and other creative works collected and published by the Johnson & Wales University faculty, staff, colleges, departments, and students.
Updated 4/2010
back to top
|