|
Research Resources
Databases
Dissertations
Electronic Books
Journal Locator
Other Catalogs
Research Guides
Search Engines
Subject Sites
Library Catalog
Building the Collection
Forms
Site Map
|
|
general topics | american government/history | business
| computer science | countries | CULINARY
| education |
health/nutrition | hospitality | law/criminal justice | literature
| market research | science |
a-z
Off-campus access: Most J&W resources will prompt you to type your first name, last name, and the 14-digit barcode number on your Johnson & Wales University I.D. If you
are asked to use other login methods, please follow the instructions that are provided.
Academic Search Premier
on campus | off campus
Scholarly, multi-discipline database providing many full text articles for nearly all academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,
ethnic studies, etc.
Advertising Redbooks.com (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
How do businesses advertise their services or products—billboards, branded entertainment/ events, catalogs, email, magazines & newspapers, mobile transit (busses, trucks), radio, sweepstakes, telemarketers, T.V., Web, Yellow Pages? Which ad agencies do they use, and how much do they spend annually on advertising? The Redbooks.com directory lists nearly 18,000 U.S. & international public & private companies who spend at least $200,000 annually on advertising, 19,000 profiles of ad agencies with their corporate clients, and 91,000 brand names. You can limit your search of advertisers and agencies by state, country, or other criteria. Otain basic data such as a business description, contact info, plus a list of competitors! Enter the company name of an advertiser or agency OR:
• To search for companies within a specific industry such as apparel, computers, financial services, food retailers, hotels, restaurants, wines: See “For Advertisers” and select from the drop-down list under “Bus. Classification.”
• To search for ad agencies by their area of specialization such as event planning & marketing, fashion/apparel, food service, leisure, sports marketing, travel & tourism: See “For Agencies” and select from the drop-down list under “Agency Specialization.”
• IMPORTANT: Please click on "Logout" when you are finished. Only a limited number of users can access Redbooks at the same time. If you are temporarily unable to access Redbooks because the connection is busy, please try again.
Beverages Market Research Handbook 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
The U.S. beverage industry is a $300 billion market, and the average person in America consumes 192.0 gallons of beverages annually according to the Beverage Marketing Corporation. Learn more about the U.S. market for refreshment and nonalcoholic beverages (bottled water, coffee, tea, energy and sports drinks, soda), alcoholic beverages, beverage-focused leisure (wine & beer festivals, winery & brewery tours), data on consumption trends, consumer spending, demographics, and market trends for all beverage segments.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Biography Resource Center
on campus | off campus
Biographies of people worldwide in many fields throughout history: artists, authors, business and government leaders, chefs, historical figures, politicians, popular entertainers, scientists, sports figures, and people currently in the news. Search for people based on nationality, ethnicity, occupation, gender, and birth or death year.
Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile Web 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
$350 billion is spent annually on Internet content, access, e-commerce, and online advertising! This handbook looks at Internet use and expenditure in the U.S. Online activities are wide-ranging and include social networking (Facebook, MySpace), blogs, podcasts, banking & finance, entertainment, gambling, job hunting, hobbies
(culinary arts, genealogy), house hunting, shopping, travel planning, and reference websites that are educational and health-related. Find demographics about online users and how they stay connected through wireless Internet access and mobile devices such as cellphones, and PDAs (Personal Digital Assistants).
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
CountryWatch (Premium) (Charlotte, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
192 countries are covered in a variety of timely reports and include:
• Country Review is updated once a year or as major events occur. From the sidebar, choose from 6 “Overviews” to select specific information including the examples below: COUNTRY (key data, maps), ECONOMIC (key sector data—tourism statistics), ENVIRONMENTAL, INVESTMENT (foreign investment climate, taxation), POLITICAL (biographies of leaders, history, human rights), SOCIAL (cultural etiquette do’s and taboos for business travelers, status of women, travel guide—checklist & tips).
• CountryWatch Data gives you 10 years of in-depth country statistics, where available. Scroll through the list of individual data items, or checkmark “Use Category Filters” to select from 5 groups of data: CULTURAL (education, life expectancy/disease, population demographics, religion, standard of living). ECONOMIC SECTOR DATA (crops, energy, forestry, manufacturing, meat, metals, services). ENVIRONMENTAL (greenhouse gases). MACROECONOMICS (employment, external debt, fiscal balance, GDP, money & inflation, sector employment, stock market, trade balance). PHYSICAL (country data, land characteristics). Statistical results for all 5 categories are displayed as tables which can be downloaded into an Excel spreadsheet.
• CountryWatch Map Gallery offers thematic and political/physical maps.
• Country Wire is updated daily as news stories become available from wire services across the globe and provides various cultural and political points of view.
• Intelligence Briefings are updated weekly to inform you of significant political events around the world.
Culinary Arts Collection
on campus | off campus
150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Over 2,000 searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, industry trends & news including information about culinary education/schools (nearly 300 citations to articles dating back to 1981 about people and programs affiliated with Johnson & Wales). Full text articles from popular trade journals including About Professional Baking; Art Culinaire; Confectioner; Emerging Food R&D Report; Food, Culture & Society; Foodservice Equipment & Supplies; Nation's Restaurant News; Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, Vegetarian Journal; Wine Handbook; and Wines & Vines.
CultureGrams Online (No. Miami and Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Cultural reports for over 200 countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian Provinces are updated annually. Create-your-own statistical tables to compare country data, U.S. state data, and the Provinces—select just the categories that interest you.
• World Edition: Over 200 country reports look at customs & courtesies such as gestures & greetings (etiquette do’s & don’ts), economy, food including eating customs and diet/cuisine, general attitudes, geography, government, history, lifestyle (family, dating & marriage), population, religion, and links to a world currency converter. Plus, country statistics for economy, energy, health, life expectancy, literacy, population, transportation, and more.
• States Edition: Explore a state’s economy, geography, government, history time line, and population. State data tables cover education, household size, income, population, and travel time to work.
• Recipe Collection: Five native recipes from each country.
• Famous People: Link to short biographies of famous people in each country around the world. Note: For well-known people in each of the United States, see “States Edition.”
Health & Wellness Resource Center
on campus | off campus
Journal articles plus documents from medical dictionaries, encyclopedias, and directories.
Health Reference Center Academic
on campus | off campus
Selective full-text articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, and more.
Hoover’s Academic Online (Charlotte Campus)
on campus | off campus
COMPANIES: In-depth information for 43,000 U.S. & international public and top private companies.
• Under Browse Company Record, link to Competitive Landscape
(compare a company’s data with 3 of its top competitors within the same industry), corporate history, financials including historical, SEC Filings (easy-to-view annual reports), stock market data, products/operations, company news updates, key executives, and more. See Data Definitions for an explanation of financial terms such as different types of ratios.
• Under Company Record Tools, link to Build a Custom Report. Select and display company data in PDF or HTML formats to use in presentations, job interviews, or marketing research.
INDUSTRIES: For short overviews select First Research Industry Profiles, which are organized under 11 categories: Construction & Real Estate, Finance & Insurance, Food & Agriculture, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Public Services/Education/Recreation, Retail, Services, Technology & Communications, Transportation/Energy/Storage, and Wholesale.
NOTE: "Expanded Access Needed" indicates that some industry data is not available through the University's academic subscription and may be purchased as pay-per-views.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
on campus | off campus
Full-text articles from over 200 international publications. Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality, travel & tourism globally. Coverage includes baking & culinary arts, business travel, computer technology, demographics & statistics, development and investment, event management, food & beverage (safety, science, service), gaming and casinos, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure studies, market trends, meetings, nutrition, restaurants, and more. Where available, country-specific information is provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and Datamonitor. Note: To find a complete country report from Datamonitor, type the name of a country plus the words “country profile” within the same search box, for example, Belgium country profile. Over 125 in-depth country profiles appear in PDF report format up to 20+ pages in length. Look up a country’s key facts, economy, geography, politics & government, population demographics, major trading partners, and more.
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection (Denver and No. Miami Campuses)
on campus | off campus
This full-text collection includes content from over 500 industry journals and provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality, tourism and leisure fields.
IBISWorld with Global Reports (Denver, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
International industry market research! 700+ U.S. industries many relating to JWU’s academic programs, for example: Business (Accounting, Advertising, Financial Planning, Legal Services, Management, Marketing, Retail Trade, Women’s/Men’s/Children’s Clothing Stores). Culinary Arts & Hospitality (Casinos & Gaming, Fast Food & Full-Service Restaurants, Food Service Contractors, Hotels & Motels, Entertainment/Event & Sports Promotions, Travel Agencies & Tour Operators, Wedding Planners, Wine Production). Education (Colleges, Universities, & Professional Schools). Technology (IT Consulting, Software Publishing). Over 80 Global Industries include Global Advertising, Global Apparel Mfg., Global Casinos & Gaming, Global Hotels & Restaurants, Global Human Resources & Employment Services, Global Investment Banking, Global Management Consultants, Global Wine Manufacturing, and International Tourism. In-depth reports are 35-50 pages long. See Key Statistics for 5 years of financials with ratios. Sections on Key Competitors, Segmentation, and Outlook include graphs and tables. To view complete industry reports, download in either MS Word or PDF formats. Data can also be exported into Excel spreadsheets.
Leisure Market Research Handbook 2007 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
Market research explores how “consumers spend their non-working time and discretionary income” on leisure activities and hobbies. Statistics on expenditures and participation, market characteristics, trends, and demographics! Look at consumer’s use of time such as the impact of Internet use on leisure activities, multitasking, time use by Teens and Tweens, plus the psychology of leisure (crave for luxury, psychology of fads). Numerous and unique markets include Ballroom Dancing, Book Clubs, Catering to the Pet Market (pet-friendly hotels, retailers & malls), Continuing Education (a lifelong pursuit of learning), Culinary Arts & Tourism (cooking schools—Johnson & Wales University, food TV), Do-It-Yourself Projects (DIY versus DIFM), Games (poker, sudoku, video), Gambling (casino markets, online gambling), Online Activities (blogs, personal websites), Spas, Spectator Sports (American sports fan, extreme sports, ticket prices & fan cost index), Theme Experiences (experiential travel—buying “experiences”), Transition To Digital Photography, Wellness & Fitness Marketplace (seeking the fountain of youth).
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Plunkett Research Online
on campus | off campus
Valuable industry information for students and job seekers in various fields including Advertising & Branding; Airlines, Hotel & Travel; Apparel & Textiles; Banking; Biotechnology; Computers & Software; Consulting; Entertainment & Media; Food & Beverage Industry; Health Care; Investment; Retail; Sports Industry; Transportation, Supply Chain & Logistics; Telecommunications; Wireless, Cellular, Wi-Fi & RFID. Each type of industry gives you market research & trends, statistics, company profiles, names of associations within specific industries and occupations, and a glossary of industry-specific terms with their definitions.
• Under "Industry Research Centers" see “Job Seekers Resources & Tools” to check the U.S. job market and trends among American employers, link to major job search engines, learn how to use your college placement office and library to research a company and its industry before a job interview, with tips for applying to jobs online. Use the current edition of Occupational Outlook Handbook to look up job titles, training, education, and other qualifications needed for hiring and advancement, earnings/salaries, and a general description of job duties and working conditions.
Restaurant & Foodservice Market Research Handbook 2008 (Providence Campus)
on campus | off campus
The restaurant and foodservice industry is a $558 billion market and employs over 13.1 million people according to the National Restaurant Association (NRA). “More than 90% of graduates who spend up to $50,000 a year to attend culinary schools find jobs in the industry” (2007 National Survey of Post Secondary American Culinary Programs). See statistics for restaurant sales state-by-state and for major cities, as well as customer demographics. A chapter on “socially responsible dining” discusses eco-friendly operations, animal welfare issues, and charitable activities. Keep up with the latest trends in menus, daypart analysis (including snacks and late-night), takeout, price promotions, interactive (online) promotions, reservations policies, and online/mobile ordering. Over 300 restaurant chain websites are analyzed to guide restaurateurs who are planning next-generation websites.
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to log on by either visiting or calling the Downcity Reference Desk (401-598-1121) or Harborside Reference Desk (401-598-1466).
You will be asked to give your JWU-Providence Library barcode.
Science Resource Center (Denver, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Find journal articles covering scientific topics such as anatomy, biochemistry, biotechnology, carbon footprint, chemistry, climate, cloning, computer science, DNA, environmental sciences, extreme weather & catastrophic weather events, forensic sciences, genetic engineering, global warming, greenhouse gasses, human body, microbiology, natural disasters, physiology, plants (organisms), renewable energy (biofuels), sports sciences, stem cell research, and tsunamis. See “Science-Related Tools” for the “MegaConverter” with links to cooking conversions, currency and language converters, math conversions (fractions to decimals, finance interest rate payments), wine & spirits measures (beverage, bartending), and much more.
back to top
|