general topics | american government/history | BUSINESS | computer sciencecountries | culinary | education | health/nutrition | hospitality | law/criminal justice | literature | market research | science | a-z


Off-campus access: Most J&W resources will prompt you to type your first name, last name, and the 14-digit barcode number on your Johnson & Wales University I.D.  If you
are asked to use other login methods, please follow the instructions that are provided.


Advertising Redbooks.com  (Providence Campus)
on campus  |  off campus

How do businesses advertise their services or products—billboards, branded entertainment/ events, catalogs, email, magazines & newspapers, mobile transit (busses, trucks), radio, sweepstakes, telemarketers, T.V., Web, Yellow Pages?  Which ad agencies do they use, and how much do they spend annually on advertising? The Redbooks.com directory lists nearly 18,000 U.S. & international public & private companies who spend at least $200,000 annually on advertising, 19,000 profiles of ad agencies with their corporate clients, and 91,000 brand names.  You can limit your search of advertisers and agencies by state, country, or other criteria.  Otain basic data such as a business description, contact info, plus a list of competitors!  Enter the company name of an advertiser or agency OR:
• To search for companies within a specific industry such as apparel, computers, financial services, food retailers, hotels, restaurants, travel: See “For Advertisers” and select from the drop-down list under “Bus. Classification.”
• To search for ad agencies by their area of specialization such as event planning & marketing, fashion/apparel, food service, leisure, sports marketing, travel & tourism: See “For Agencies” and select from the drop-down list under “Agency Specialization.”
• IMPORTANT: Please click on "Logout" when you are finished.  Only a limited number of users can access Redbooks at the same time.  If you are temporarily unable to access Redbooks because the connection is busy, please try again. 


Business & Company Resource Center
on campus  |  off campus

Company profiles include (where available) company histories, chronologies, rankings, financials, investment reports, products and brands, suits and claims, industry overviews, plus links to business news articles. Search for detailed company and industry news and information.


Business Source Premier
on campus  |  off campus

Selective full-text articles from international business journals cover all disciplines of business and include: Accounting, economics, finance, marketing, personnel management, management information systems (MIS), and production and operations management (POM). Plus, you can link directly to full-text Company Profiles from Datamonitor, Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, and SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats).


CountryWatch (Premium)  (Charlotte, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus 

192 countries are covered in a variety of timely reports and include:
Country Review is updated once a year or as major events occur. From the sidebar, choose from 6 “Overviews” to select specific information including the examples below: COUNTRY (key data, maps), ECONOMIC (key sector data—tourism statistics), ENVIRONMENTAL, INVESTMENT (foreign investment climate, taxation), POLITICAL (biographies of leaders, history, human rights), SOCIAL (cultural etiquette do’s and taboos for business travelers, status of women, travel guide—checklist & tips).
CountryWatch Data gives you 10 years of in-depth country statistics, where available.  Scroll through the list of individual data items, or checkmark “Use Category Filters” to select from 5 groups of data: CULTURAL (education, life expectancy/disease, population demographics, religion, standard of living).  ECONOMIC SECTOR DATA (crops, energy, forestry, manufacturing, meat, metals, services).  ENVIRONMENTAL (greenhouse gases). MACROECONOMICS (employment, external debt, fiscal balance, GDP, money & inflation, sector employment, stock market, trade balance).  PHYSICAL (country data, land characteristics).  Statistical results for all 5 categories are displayed as tables which can be downloaded into an Excel spreadsheet.
CountryWatch Map Gallery offers thematic and political/physical maps.
Country Wire is updated daily as news stories become available from wire services across the globe and provides various cultural and political points of view.
Intelligence Briefings are updated weekly to inform you of significant political events around the world.


CultureGrams Online  (No. Miami and Providence Campuses)  
on campus  |  off campus

Cultural reports for over 200 countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian Provinces are updated annually. Create-your-own statistical tables to compare country data, U.S. state data, and the Provinces—select just the categories that interest you.
World Edition: Over 200 country reports look at customs & courtesies such as gestures & greetings (etiquette do’s & don’ts), economy, food including eating customs and diet/cuisine, general attitudes, geography, government, history, lifestyle (family, dating & marriage), population, religion, and links to a world currency converter. Plus, country statistics for economy, energy, health, life expectancy, literacy, population, transportation, and more.
• States Edition: Explore a state’s economy, geography, government, history time line, and population. State data tables cover education, household size, income, population, and travel time to work.
Recipe Collection: Five native recipes from each country.
Famous People: Link to short biographies of famous people in each country around the world. Note: For well-known people in each of the United States, see “States Edition.”


Emerald
Management Extra 110  (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Selective, full-text management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Healthcare, Hospitality, Human Resources and Professional Development, Library Services and Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition and Food Science.  NOTE: To limit your results to full-text articles only, link to either "Quick Search" or "Advanced Search" and check off "My subscribed content."


General BusinessFile ASAP
on campus  |  off campus

Analyses of company performance, industry events, and the latest trends in management, economics, and politics. Access trade publications, newspapers, and journal articles.


Hoover’s Academic Online (Charlotte Campus)
on campus  |  off campus

COMPANIES:  In-depth information for 43,000 U.S. & international public and top private companies. 
• Under Browse Company Record, link to Competitive Landscape
(compare a company’s data with 3 of its top competitors within the same industry), corporate history, financials including historical, SEC Filings (easy-to-view annual        reports), stock market data, products/operations, company news updates, key executives, and more.  See Data Definitions for an explanation of financial terms such as different types of ratios. 
• Under Company Record Tools, link to Build a Custom Report.  Select and display company data in PDF or HTML formats to use in presentations, job interviews, or marketing research.
INDUSTRIES:  For short overviews select First Research Industry Profiles, which are organized under 11 categories: Construction & Real Estate, Finance & Insurance, Food & Agriculture, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Public Services/Education/Recreation, Retail, Services, Technology & Communications, Transportation/Energy/Storage, and Wholesale. 
NOTE: "Expanded Access Needed" indicates that some industry data is not available through the University's academic subscription and may be purchased as pay-per-views.


Hospitality & Tourism Complete from EBSCO
on campus  |  off campus

Many full-text articles from over 200 international publications. Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality, travel & tourism globally. Coverage includes baking & culinary arts, business travel, computer technology, demographics & statistics, development and investment, event management, food & beverage (safety, science, service), gaming and casinos, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure studies, market trends, meetings, nutrition, restaurants, and more. Where available, country-specific information is provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and Datamonitor. Note: To find a complete country report from Datamonitor, type the name of a country plus the words “country profile” within the same search box, for example, Belgium country profile. Over 125 in-depth country profiles appear in PDF report format up to 20+ pages in length. Look up a country’s key facts, economy, geography, politics & government, population demographics, major trading partners, and more.


Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection from Gale (Denver and No. Miami Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

This full-text collection includes content from over 500 industry journals and provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality, tourism and leisure fields.


IBISWorld with Global Reports (Denver, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

International industry market research!  700+ U.S. industries many relating to JWU’s academic programs, for example: Business (Accounting, Advertising, Financial Planning, Legal Services, Management, Marketing, Retail Trade, Women’s/Men’s/Children’s Clothing Stores).  Culinary Arts & Hospitality (Casinos & Gaming, Fast Food & Full-Service Restaurants, Food Service Contractors, Hotels & Motels, Entertainment/Event & Sports Promotions, Travel Agencies & Tour Operators, Wedding Planners, Wine Production). Education (Colleges, Universities, & Professional Schools).  Technology (IT Consulting, Software Publishing).  Over 80 Global Industries include Global Advertising, Global Apparel Mfg., Global Casinos & Gaming, Global Hotels & Restaurants, Global Human Resources & Employment Services, Global Investment Banking, Global Management Consultants, Global Wine Manufacturing, and International Tourism.  In-depth reports are 35-50 pages long.  See Key Statistics for 5 years of financials with ratios.  Sections on Key Competitors, Segmentation, and Outlook include graphs and tables.  To view complete industry reports, download in either MS Word or PDF formats.  Data can also be exported into Excel spreadsheets.


JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences IV Collection (Providence Campus)
on campus  |  off campus

JSTOR is an acronym for “Journal Storage.”  This retrospective collection makes full-text articles available online from back issues of scholary journals primarily in the fields of BUSINESS, EDUCATION, and LAW, including several titles in Administration, Psychology, and Public Policy.  Journals cover such diverse areas as accounting, child development, consumer psychology, criminal & police science, curricula, economics, educational measurement & statistics, higher education, human resources, industrial and labor relations, international business, legal studies, learning disabilities, marketing, organizational behavior, strategic management, and the Supreme Court.


LexisNexis Academic
on campus  |  off campus

A news, business, law, and medical information service with full-text access to nearly 6,000 newspapers, magazines, journals, and reference sources. Includes access to law reviews, court opinions, and federal and state statutes.


MRI+ Internet Reporter (Denver and Providence Campuses)
on campus  |  off campus

Market studies containing consumer demographics are used to describe the "readers, viewers, or listeners of various media such as magazines, TV, radio, and Websites. " Comparative data can found under "Pocketpieces: Top-Line Reports. " Note: You will first need to set up your own account with your Johnson & Wales email address and a password of your choice.  more information


Plunkett Research Online
on campus  |  off campus

Valuable industry information for students and job seekers in various fields including Advertising & Branding; Airlines, Hotel & Travel; Apparel & Textiles; Banking; Biotechnology; Computers & Software; Consulting; Entertainment & Media; Food & Beverage Industry; Health Care; Investment; Retail; Sports Industry; Transportation, Supply Chain & Logistics; Telecommunications; Wireless, Cellular, Wi-Fi & RFID. Each type of industry gives you market research & trends, statistics, company profiles, names of associations within specific industries and occupations, and a glossary of industry-specific terms with their definitions.
Under "Industry Research Centers" see “Job Seekers Resources & Tools” to check the U.S. job market and trends among American employers, link to major job search engines, learn how to use your college placement office and library to research a company and its industry before a job interview, with tips for applying to jobs online.  Use the current edition of Occupational Outlook Handbook to look up job titles, training, education, and other qualifications needed for hiring and advancement, earnings/salaries, and a general description of job duties and working conditions.


Regional Business News
on campus  |  off campus

Selective full-text articles from business journals, newspapers, and newswires within the U.S. Full-text titles include "Banking Wire", "Business CustomWire", "Business Times -- Connecticut", "Business West" (western Mass. ), "ColoradoBiz", "Crain's Chicago Business", "Crain's New York Business", "Fairfield County Business Journal", "Finance CustomWire", "Las Vegas Business Press", "Money Management", "Mortgage Line", "Long Island Business News", "Orange County Business Journal" (Calif. ), "Westchester County Business Journal", "CNN Money Morning" and CNNfn's "Biz", "The Flipside", "Market Call", "Money & Markets", and "The Money Gang". Use the "Publications" tab to look for recent issues of publications within specific regions of the U.S. See also databases LexisNexis and the Providence Journal-Bulletin Full-Text for regional news coverage.


RMA's (Risk Management Assoc.) eStatement Studies (Providence Campus)
on campus  |  off campus

19 financial statement ratios for 740+ industries are listed within the balance sheet (financial position), income, and cash flow statements.  5 years of current and comparative historical data and 4 years of trend data are exportable into Excel.  See "About eStatement Studies" for helpful definitions of ratios and formulae for calculating ratios.  There are 3 ways to find an industry: "Choose An Industry" from the drop-down "Select" menu, or enter your own terms, or look up an industry through "Find NAICS code." 
NOTE: Content linked from "List of Industry Reports" and "Call Briefs" within eMentor is not available to JWU or other universities at this time; the eMentor feature is only available to corporations.



SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service) Titles: Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Interactive Advertising Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source, and TV & Cable Source  (Providence Campus)
on campus  |  off campus

What would it cost to advertise your business or service in various media formats (magazines, newspapers, radio, television, websites)?  Find standardized ad rates, circulation figures, demographics of your targeted audience where available (age, gender, education level, marital status, special interests), contact information for publisher/sales, and requirements for submission depending on the type of media.  At the welcome page “Click here to access SRDS Services.”  All 5 subscribed titles are listed in two locations: Under “My Services” and in the “Go To” drop-down menu.  How-to-use service guides are available in PDF format for several titles.


Wall Street Journal through ProQuest
on campus  |  off campus

Selective, full-text newspaper articles are available from the world's leading financial newspaper. Updated daily, content covers companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Coverage is from 1984 to present; images are not available.

back to top

J&W home J&W Library home