Databases by Name A-Z

Off-campus access: Most JWU resources will prompt you to type your first name, last name, and the 14-digit barcode number along the bottom edge of your Johnson & Wales University I.D.  If you are asked to use other login methods, please follow the instructions that are provided.

All  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

A


ABC-CLIO eBook Collection (All Campuses)

E-books in wide-ranging areas including the Arts, Business, Crime & Justice, Education, Family Studies/Issues, Food, Health/Medicine, Law, Library & Information Science, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Popular Culture, Psychology, and Science.
NOTE: To make the text larger for easier readability, use the “Settings” link.


Academic Search Complete (All Campuses)

Many full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.


ACLS Humanities E-Books (All Campuses)

E-books covering many fields including Area Studies, Art, Comparative World History, Folklore and Literature, Law, Medicine, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion, Science, Sociology, Technology, and Women's Studies. 
NOTE:
To view and print pages as PDF's, first select a page of text (not the book title page), go to the "page" link in the upper right navigation bar, then select "pdf" from the drop-down menu. You can only view and print 3 PDF pages at a time.


ADA's Evidence Analysis Library (EAL)  (Denver, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)

Research from the American Dietetic Assoc. on nutrition, nutrients, and foods used to promote health throughout the human life cycle (infants to seniors), including evidence-based nutrition guidelines to treat diseases and conditions. Use together with ADA's Nutrition Care Manual (NCM).  IMPORTANT: If you see a warning message about this "website's security certificate," you MUST click on the link “Continue to this website (not recommended)," before being passed on to the EAL website.  PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session.  Only a limited number of people can access the EAL at the same time.


ADA's Nutrition Care Manual (NCM)   (Denver and Providence Campuses)

Evidence-based nutrition care information for diseases & conditions, complete with meal plans, electronic calculators, and client/patient education handouts from the American Dietetic Assoc. See also the "Resources" tab and sidebar for cultural/ethnic food practices. Use together with ADA's Evidence Analysis Library (EAL).  PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session.  Only a limited number of people can access the NCM at the same time.


ADA's Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual (PNCM)  (Denver and Providence Campuses)

Children/patient information handouts (with Spanish translations), meal plan handouts, and nutrition care for diseases & conditions including behavioral health are provided by the American Dietetic Association. Also includes online calculators. PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the PNCM at the same time.


ADA's Sports Nutrition Care Manual (SNCM)
  (Denver and Providence Campuses)

Nutrition information is provided by Board Certified Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs) from the American Dietetic Association. Includes patient information and meal plan handouts, nutrition care for diseases & conditions, and online calculators to estimate BMI, energy expenditure, sweat rate, lean body mass, and healthy body weight. PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the SNCM at the same time.


Advertising Redbooks.com (Providence Campus)

How do businesses advertise their services or products, which ad agencies do they use, and how much do they spend annually on advertising?  The Redbooks.com directory lists public and private U.S. and international companies who spend at least $200,000 annually on advertising, plus profiles of ad agencies and brand names.
IMPORTANT: If you see a warning message about this "website's security certificate," you MUST click on the link “Continue to this website (not recommended)," before being passed on to Redbooks. Also, please "SIGN OFF" at the end of your session. Only a limited number of users can access Redbooks at the same time.   More information


B

Berg Fashion Library (All Campuses)

International in scope, thousands of images plus key fashion reference sources including Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, A-Z of Fashion, Dictionary of Fashion History, & nearly 60 fashion e-books (from the "Subscribers" column), and selective journal articles. "Explore by Time & Place" and also browse by Dress, People & Organizations, Period, Textiles & Materials, The Fashion Industry, and Themes.


Biological Science Collection  (All Campuses)

Selected full text from over 6,000 journal titles, conference proceedings, technical reports, books and patents. Subject areas include research in Animal Behavior, Bacteriology, Biotechnology, Ecology, Human Genome, Immunology, Micro & Molecular Biology, Safety Science, Toxicology, Veterinary Science & Zoology.


Business & Company Resource Center (All Campuses)

Company profiles include where available valuable SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats), company histories, financials, and management-related articles.


Business Source Complete (All Campuses)

Valuable company profiles from Datamonitor with SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, management-related articles, and streaming vidoes from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.


C

CountryWatch  (No. Miami and Providence Campuses)

Overviews of a country’s economy (macroeconomics), in-depth country statistics including tourism statistics, cultural etiquette (do’s & don’ts for business travelers), maps, environmental issues, government structure, and political news updated daily around the world.  More information


CQ Researcher  (Charlotte Campus)

Contains comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It is noted for its coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.  Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press and date back to 1991.


CREDO Reference (All Campuses)

Over 500 reference books online such as biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and quotations in many subject areas: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, General Reference, Geography, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine/Health, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology. See the “Gadgets" tab for useful tools such as a measurement converter.


Culinary Arts Collection (All Campuses)

Many full-text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines, plus recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry trends & news. Selective, full text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines. Plus, information about culinary education/schools with citations to articles dating back to 1981 about people and programs affiliated with Johnson & Wales.


D


Denver Business Journal (Denver Campus)

Includes full-text articles about the Denver business community. Access is also provided to the Book of Lists, a listing of local companies in their fields, by ranking.


Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (All Campuses)

All full-text scholarly and scientific journals covering wide-ranging subjects.
NOTE:
A few publishers may ask you to register online free of charge in order to access their journals, but if you are ever prompted to pay for access please notify a librarian at your campus.


Dissertations & Theses @ Johnson & Wales University (All Campuses)

Dissertations published from 1999 forward by Johnson & Wales University graduates of the doctoral Ed. D. program in Educational Leadership, are available online to authorized JWU users.  Authorized JWU users can download the complete dissertation. 
NOTE:
If you are prompted to “Order a copy” because a JWU dissertation is unavailable electronically, please complete and submit the Inter-Library Loan Dissertation Request Form online.  


E

EBRARY Academic Complete
(All Campuses)

Over 52,000 ebooks including Area Studies (country info.), Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Humanities, Language, Law, Literature, Life Sciences, Nursing & Allied Health, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Psychology & Sociology, and Religion.


EBSCOhost EJS

NOTE: Individual JWU campuses subscribe to different journals and may not all have access to the same journals. 
Scholarly journals in the fields of Criminology, Education, Food Science, Gaming, Hospitality, Nutrition, Technology, Travel & Tourism.


Education Research Complete  (All Campuses)

Many full-text articles from 1,400 journal titles and the full text of nearly 550 e-books and conference papers. Coverage includes Administration, Curriculum Instruction, Early Childhood to Higher Education, Funding, Health Education, Multilingual Education, Policy, and Testing.


Emerald Management 120  (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)

Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. 
NOTE: CHECK OFF "My subscribed content" for full-text articles only.



ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (All Campuses)

Indexing & abstracts of articles on education sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.


EStatement Studies (from RMA) (Denver and Providence Campuses)

Up to 19 types of financial statement ratios for 740+ industries, plus 5 years of current & comparative historical data, and 4 years of trend data. NOTE: Content linked from "List of Industry Reports" and "Call Briefs" within eMentor is NOT available to universities; only to corporations.  More information

F

Films on Demand Complete  
(All Campuses)

Streaming videos run from 7 min. to under 1 hr. and cover business communication & ethics, business law, job search skills, and careers in hospitality & tourism, marketing, finance, information technology, arts & audio visual technology.


Food Science Source (All Campuses)

Many full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.


Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (All Campuses)

Many subjects are covered including country information, brief biographies of both historical and contemporary figures, plus photos, diagrams, and charts.


G

Gale Biography In Context (All Campuses)

Biographies of people worldwide in many fields throughout history: artists, authors, business leaders, chefs, government leaders & politicians, historical figures, popular entertainers, scientists, sports figures, and people currently in the news.


Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context  (All Campuses)

Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case. 


Gale Science In Context  (All Campuses)

Journal articles on various scientific topics including computer science. See also “Science-Related Tools” for the “MegaConverter” with links to cooking conversions, currency and language converters, math conversions, wine & spirits measures (beverage, bartending), and more.


General BusinessFile ASAP (All Campuses)

Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center


Global Road Warrior (All Campuses)

Information on 175 countries & their cultures!  Country geo-stats & facts, money & banking, business culture with advice for businesswomen, travel documents, points of interest, plus photos and maps.



Going Global's Country Career Guides  (All Campuses)

Updated international job/internship postings in 35 countries! Country-specific: Work permit/visa regulations, resume writing guidelines, interviewing advice, cultural & business etiquette, cost of living expenses, industry/employment trends, top companies, & professional trade associations for networking. Find companies in the U.S. who are temporarily hiring foreign workers who qualify for H1-B visa status.


Going Global's USA/Canada City Career Guides  (All Campuses)

Updated job postings for the 40 largest cities in the U.S. and Canada. City-specific industry/employment trends, top companies, cost of living expenses, job fairs, and more. Find companies in America's largest cities who are temporarily hiring foreign workers who qualify for H1-B visa status.


GreenFILE (All Campuses)

Full-text articles from these three journals (BMC Ecology; Environmental Health Perspectives; and Environmental Health: A Global Access Science Source). Indexing only to journals in JWU’s other EBSCO databases.


GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)  (All Campuses)

Many full-text articles plus streaming videos on important aspects of environmental issues: economic, political, legal, and the human impact on the enviroment.


H

Health & Wellness Resource Center (All Campuses)

Complete content from medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources plus many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals.


Health Reference Center Academic (All Campuses)

Many full-text articles on such topics as addictions, diseases, fitness, nutrition, occupational health & safety, prescription drugs, public health, and more. This is a subset of the larger database Health & Wellness Resource Center


History Reference Center  (All Campuses)

Selective full-text articles plus photos, maps, videos, biographies of historical figures, and U.S. and world history timelines.


Hoover’s Academic Online (Charlotte Campus)

In-depth information for 43,000 U.S. & international public and top private companies.  Find a company’s corporate history, financials, SEC Filings in annual reports, stock market data, products/operations, company news updates, and key executives.  Special features include the popular “Competitive Landscape.”  (See also LexisNexis for Hoover’s Company Records). NOTE: "Expanded Access Needed" indicates that some industry data is not available through the University's academic subscription and may be purchased as pay-per-views.  More information


Hospitality & Tourism Complete  from EBSCO (All Campuses)

Many full-text articles covering Baking & Culinary Arts, Business Travel, Event Management, Food & Beverage, Gaming & Casinos, Hospitality Law, Hotel Management, Leisure Studies, Market Trends, Meetings, Restaurants, and more.


Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection  from Gale (All Campuses)

Selective full-text articles from over 500 journals covering vararious aspects of the hospitality industry such as travel & tourism and leisure activities.



I

IBISWorld  (All Campuses)

International industry research for over 700 U.S. industries and 60+ global industries with 5 years of financials and ratios.  TO VIEW COMPLETE INDUSTRY REPORTS instead of one screen at a time: Download into either MS Word or PDF formats. Data can also be exported into Excel spreadsheets.  More information


J

JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences IV Collection (ALL Campuses)

Full-text articles from back issues of scholarly journals in the fields of Business, Education, and Law, including several titles in Administration, Psychology, and Public Policy.


L

LexisNexis Academic (All Campuses)

Full-text access to international newspapers, SEC filings (annual reports), legal information (federal and state laws), company profiles including Hoover's company records, and brief biographies of people around the world. To find Hoover’s Company Records: Go to the Business tab, Company Profiles, then the Sources drop-down menu. 


Literature Resource Center (All Campuses)

American and international authors from all time periods with authors' biographies, literary criticism, overviews of literary works and plot summaries.   More information


Lynda.com (Providence Campus)

Over 53,000 online training videos covering virtually every aspect of computer applications & software including Animation, CAD/drafting, Desktop Publishing, Digital Photography, e-Commerce, Game Development, Networking & Security, Operating Systems, Podcasting, Programming Languages, Social Networking, Web Architecture & Design. NOTE: Only a limited number of users can access these videos at the same time, so PLEASE TRY AGAIN IF YOU SEE THIS MESSAGE: "All licenses are in use."


M

MarketResearch.com Academic (All Campuses)

Industry reports include demographics, market trends, forecasts, analysis of major brands, new products, and consumer trends & buyer behavior in such fields as Food & Beverage, Food Service & Hospitality, Retailing, Technology & Media, Travel & Leisure.



MAS Ultra - School Edition
(All Campuses)

Biographies, book reviews, articles from general interest magazines, (World Almanac, CIA World Fact Book, encyclopedias) plus photos, maps and flags.


Military & Government Collection (All Campuses)

Current news articles about law enforcement and all branches of the military.


Million Dollar Database—New England (Providence Campus)

Company profiles for both public and private businesses in CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT with $1 million+ sales or 20+ employees. NOTE: PLEASE LOG OFF WHEN YOU ARE FINISHED; only a limited number of users can access Million Dollar at the same time.


MRI+ Reporter (Denver, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)

Market studies contain consumer demographics which describe the "readers, viewers, or listeners" of various media such as magazines, TV, radio, and websites.

ACCESS: You must first set up your own FREE account with your Johnson & Wales email address ending in @jwu.edu and a password of your choice.  Other email addresses such as Gmail, Yahoo, or Hotmail are NOT permitted.  More information


N

Natural Standard Professional Database  (Denver, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)

Medical and alternative therapies including nutrition, diets & dietary supplements, functional foods, and exercises for various medical conditions and sports medicine, complete with charts & tables, calculators, and a symptom checker.



P


Palgrave Macmillan Journals  (All Campuses)

Full-text access to one e-journal: Tourism & Hospitality Research.


ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Humanities and Social Sciences Collection   (Providence Campus)

Over 1 million full-text dissertations published internationally since 1997 can be downloaded in PDF format including 24-page previews of dissertations and theses, where available. CHECK OFF "Full text documents only." And, TO LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO JWU's DISSERTATIONS: In the "School name/code" search box, either enter Johnson & Wales or select it from the "Look up schools" drop-down menu.


Providence Journal (Providence Campus)

Selective, full-text articles from Rhode Island's leading newspaper.


PsycARTICLES  (All Campuses)

Many full-text articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations dating back as early as 1894 (over 100 years of coverage). All areas of psychology are covered including Basic/Experimental Psych., Clinical Psych., Developmental Psych., Education & School Psych., Health Psych., Industrial/Organizational Psych., Social Psych., and Social Processes.


PsychiatryOnline with DSM-IV-TR Manual (Premium)  (Providence Campus)

DSM-IV-TR (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders-4th edition-Text Revision) is one of several diagnostic tools available through the PsychiatryOnline website.  Also access full-text reference books & journals including American Journal of Psychiatry and Academic Psychiatry.  See also " APA Practice Guidelines."  And, for short brochures on mental health topics (i.e., addiction, college students, domestic violence) see the "For Patients" tab.  NOTE: This will take you out of PsychiatryOnline to the Healthy Minds website. Use the back arrow in your browser to return to the PsychiatryOnline website.


R

Regional Business News (All Campuses)

Selective, full-text articles from business journals, newspapers, and newswires within the U.S.
Use the "Publications" tab to look for business news sources within specific regions of the U.S.  See also LexisNexis and the Providence Journal for local news coverage. 


Richard K. Miller’s Marketing Research Handbooks (All Campuses)

In-depth industry information in such fields as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Energy, Carbon Reduction and “green jobs”, Entertainment/Media & Advertising, Healthcare, Hotels & Resorts, Leisure, Restaurant & Foodservice, Retailing, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism.


S

SAGE Premier 2010 (All Campuses)

Full-text journals from 1999-to the current year in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism.
NOTE: To retrieve full-text articles published from 1999 to the present, go to the Advanced Search screen.  Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year]; otherwise your search results will include citations to articles published before 1999 (abstracts only; no full text).


SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) (All Campuses)

Sports marketing research statistics on consumer expenditures, attendance at sporting events, TV viewership and Internet usage. Plus, directories with contact information for professional sports teams & organizations, sporting goods vendors, and more. More information


ScholarsArchive@JWU  (Charlotte and Providence Campuses)

Repository for journal articles, working papers, dissertations & theses, and other creative works published by Johnson & Wales University faculty, students, and staff, plus special collections such as restaurant menus.


ScienceDirect Journals  (Providence Campus)

Full-text access to 4 e-journals: Business Horizons, International Journal of Hospitality Management, Journal of Economics and Business, and Journal of the American Dietetic Association.  NOTE: Check mark Johnson & Wales University under "Choose Organization."


SPORTDiscus with Full Text  (All Campuses)

Many full-text articles from sports and sports medicine journals plus books and book chapters.


Sports Fan Market 2010  (All Campuses)

Demographic characteristics of sports fans (age, gender, income, geographic region in the U.S.) who watch sports on (TV, computers, or mobile devices), attend games, or purchase apparel with sports logos. Covers Baseball, Basketball, Car Racing, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Martial Arts, Soccer, and Tennis.  Use with SBRnet database.


SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service) (Denver and Providence Campuses)

6 Titles: Consumer Media Advertising Source, Interactive Advertising Source, Local Market Audience Analyst, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source, and TV & Cable Source. What would it cost to advertise your business or service in magazines, newspapers, radio, television, or websites? Find ad rates, circulation figures, audience demographics, and contact info. for publishers/sales.  Use the popular Local Market Audience Analyst to look at people’s lifestyles in specific areas of the U.S.—what do people spend their money on around the country?  NOTE: At the welcome page “Click here to access SRDS Services” to connect to JWU Library's subscribed titles.


Stylesight 
(All Campuses)

Comprehensive fashion design and merchandizing tool lets you track seasonal forecasts and trends in fashion, interior design, materials & textiles, retail displays & showrooms. Watch streaming runway shows and create your own design storyboards.
NOTE: YOU MUST SAVE YOUR PROJECT FOLDERS ONTO YOUR PERSONAL USB FLASH DRIVES, otherwise they will be deleted from University computers nightly and from the Stylesight server at the end of the trimester.


V

Value Line Research Center  (All Campuses)

Updated stock market quotes, portfolio tracking with alerts, mutual funds, company news, industry overviews, emerging markets, convertible securities, and proprietary special situation stocks. Extensive data graphs & charts. For additional help see the tab "Investment Tools" and select the link "How to Use the Value Line Pages."


W   


Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition (from ProQuest) (All Campuses)

Selective, full-text newspaper articles from 1984 to the present are available from the world's leading financial newspaper. Content covers companies, people, and products. Images are not available.



Updated 11/2011 by S. Reynolds

back to top

J&W home J&W Library home