Step 2. Access Gather information and sources
Library Catalog | Article Databases | Journal Locator (PDF) | Subject Guides | LC Call #
Parts of a call number
Finding an item on shelf
Library of Congress Classification System
The Library of Congress Classification System allows you to browse the shelves by subject. For example, if you want to find a book on Ethics, scan the list below. You will notice that Ethics is represented by the letters "BJ", listed under "B Philosophy, Psychology, Religion". Therefore, books on Ethics will be found in the BJ section of the Library collection. For more information, visit the Library of Congress.
A GENERAL WORKS
AC Collections. Series. Collected works
AE Encyclopedias
AG Dictionaries and other general reference works
AI Indexes
AM Museums. Collectors and collecting
AN Newspapers
AP Periodicals
AS Academies and learned societies
AY Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories
AZ History of scholarship and learning. The humanities
B PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION
B Philosophy (General)
BC Logic
BD Speculative philosophy
BF Psychology
BH Aesthetics
BJ Ethics
BL Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
BM Judaism
BP Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc.
BQ Buddhism
BR Christianity
BS The Bible
BT Doctrinal Theology
BV Practical Theology
BX Christian Denominations
C AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
C Auxiliary Sciences of History (General)
CB History of Civilization
CC Archaeology
CD Diplomatics. Archives. Seals
CE Technical Chronology. Calendar
CJ Numismatics
CN Inscriptions. Epigraphy
CR Heraldry
CS Genealogy
CT Biography
D HISTORY (GENERAL) AND HISTORY OF EUROPE
D History (General)
DA Great Britain
DAW Central Europe
DB Austria - Liechtenstein - Hungary - Czechoslovakia
DC France - Andorra - Monaco
DD Germany
DE Greco-Roman World
DF Greece
DG Italy - Malta
DH Low Countries - Benelux Countries
E-F HISTORY: AMERICA
E United States (General)
F United States local history. Canada. Latin America
G GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION
G Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
GA Mathematical geography. Cartography
GB Physical geography
GC Oceanography
GE Environmental Sciences
GF Human ecology. Anthropogeography
GN Anthropology
GR Folklore
GT Manners and customs (General)
GV Recreation. Leisure
H SOCIAL SCIENCES
H Social sciences (General)
HA Statistics
HB Economic theory. Demography
HC Economic history and conditions
HD Industries. Land use. Labor
HE Transportation and communications
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public finance
HM Sociology (General)
HN Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
HQ The family. Marriage. Women
HS Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.
HT Communities. Classes. Races
HV Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology
HX Socialism. Communism. Anarchism
J POLITICAL SCIENCE
J General legislative and executive papers
JA Political science (General)
JC Political theory
JF Political institutions and public administration
JJ Political institutions and public administration (North America)
JK Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JL Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America,
etc.)
JN Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
JQ Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia,
Pacific Area, etc.)
JS Local government. Municipal government
JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JX International law, see JZ and KZ (obsolete)
JZ International relations
K LAW
K Law in general. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence
KB Religious law in general. Comparative religious law. Jurisprudence
KBM Jewish law
KBP Islamic law
KBR History of canon law
KBU Law of the Roman Catholic Church. The Holy See
KD United Kingdom and Ireland
KDZ America. North America
KE Canada
KF United States
KG Latin America - Mexico and Central America -West Indies. Caribbean area
KH South America
KJ-KKZ Europe
KL-KWX Asia and Eurasia, Africa, Pacific Area, and Antarctica
KZ Law of nations
L EDUCATION
L Education (General)
LA History of education
LB Theory and practice of education
LC Special aspects of education
LD Individual institutions - United States
LE Individual institutions - America (except United States)
LF Individual institutions - Europe
LG Individual institutions - Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean islands, Australia,
New Zealand, Pacific islands
LH College and school magazines and papers
LJ Student fraternities and societies, United States
LT Textbooks
M MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC
M Music
ML Literature on music
MT Musical instruction and study
N FINE ARTS
N Visual arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general
P LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
P Philology. Linguistics
PA Greek language and literature. Latin language and literature
PB Modern languages. Celtic languages
PC Romanic languages
PD Germanic languages. Scandinavian languages
PE English language
PF West Germanic languages
PG Slavic languages. Baltic languages. Albanian language
PH Uralic languages. Basque language
PJ Oriental languages and literatures
PK Indo-Iranian languages and literatures
PL Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
PM Hyperborean, Indian, and artificial languages
PN Literature (General)
PQ French literature - Italian literature - Spanish literature - Portuguese
literature
PR English literature
PS American literature
PT German literature - Dutch literature - Flemish literature since 1830 -Afrikaans
literature - Scandinavian literature - Old Norse literature: Old Icelandic
and Old Norwegian - Modern Icelandic literature - Faroese literature - Danish
literature - Norwegian literature - Swedish literature
PZ Fiction and juvenile belles lettres
Q SCIENCE
Q Science (General)
QA Mathematics
QB Astronomy
QC Physics
QD Chemistry
QE Geology
QH Natural history - Biology
QK Botany
QL Zoology
QM Human anatomy
QP Physiology
QR Microbiology
R MEDICINE
R Medicine (General)
RA Public aspects of medicine
RB Pathology
RC Internal medicine
RD Surgery
RE Ophthalmology
RF Otorhinolaryngology
RG Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ Pediatrics
RK Dentistry
RL Dermatology
RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RS Pharmacy and materia medica
RT Nursing
RV Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine
RX Homeopathy
RZ Other systems of medicine
S AGRICULTURE
S Agriculture (General)
SB Plant culture
SD Forestry
SF Animal culture
SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
SK Hunting sports
T TECHNOLOGY
T Technology (General)
TA Engineering (General).
TC Hydraulic engineering.
TD Environmental technology.
TE Highway engineering.
TF Railroad engineering
TG Bridge engineering
TH Building construction
TJ Mechanical engineering
TK Electrical engineering.
TL Motor vehicles. Aeronautics.
TN Mining engineering.
TP Chemical technology
TR Photography
TS Manufactures
TT Handicrafts. Arts and
TX Home economics
U MILITARY SCIENCE
U Military science (General)
UA Armies: Organization, distribution, military situation
UB Military administration
UC Maintenance and transportation
UD Infantry
UE Cavalry. Armor
UF Artillery
UG Military engineering. Air forces
UH Other services
V NAVAL SCIENCE
V Naval science (General)
VA Navies: Organization, distribution, naval situation
VB Naval administration
VC Naval maintenance
VD Naval seamen
VE Marines
VF Naval ordnance
VG Minor services of navies
VK Navigation. Merchant marine
VM Naval architecture. Shipbuilding. Marine engineering
Z BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)
Z Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries.
Bibliography
ZA Information resources (General)