Step 2. Access Gather information and sources
Library Catalog | Article Databases | Journal Locator | Class Guides | LC Call #

Databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine and journal articles over the Internet. Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject consult the database descriptions in the JWU Library Databases list, or check to see if there is a Class Guide that will identify databases that cover your topic.  

Access to databases is a privilege available only for currently registered students and currently employed faculty and staff. To access databases remotely, you will need to enter your name and current library barcode numbers from the label attached to your Johnson & Wales University photo ID.

Blocked Database Articles
If you emailed a database article to yourself and you do not see it in your J&W email in-box, the J&W spam filtering service may be holding it with your Spam Quarantined Messages.

Database Searching Tips

Boolean searching is the traditional way to search for information in most online databases.  It can also be used for searching the Internet.  Boolean operators or connector words, such as AND, OR, and NOT, are used to create phrases and concepts based on specific rules of search logic.

Operator

Example

Results

AND

business AND ethics
cookery AND Spain

Retrieves records that contain ALL of the search terms.

 

OR

 

hotels OR motels
www OR world wide web
theater OR theatre

 

Retrieves records that contain ANY of the search terms, but does not necessarily include all of them. 

NOT

 

java NOT coffee
Clinton NOT (William OR Bill)

Excludes records containing the second search term.

Truncation or wildcard symbols can also be used to look for variations of words. For example, searching on sport* would bring up variations such as sport, sports, sporting, sporty, etc.  Using a truncation symbol broadens your search.  Note: The truncation symbol varies depending on the electronic resource you are searching. For more information, consult the database’s “help” or “search tips” pages.

back to top

J&W home J&W Library home